FOOD FIGHT FRIDAY{}ALMOND FLOUR CHOCOLATE CAKE

in #fff5 years ago

Cake 2.jpg

Hello #fff chefs, I am back in my kitchen cooking up some delightful dishes. After 16 days on a cruise ship I am ready to get back to eating my paleo and vegan food. I lasted for about week, then I was tempted by all those amazing looking desserts. One night they had what I call Cake in a Pie, the cake was baked in a pie shell. This yellow cake was topped with peaches with a green ring of coconut icing. It was delicious and full of things I should not be eating, but it was so hard to resist.
Cakes from ship.jpg

When I returned home, I had to make a paleo dessert that would rival the desserts of Royal Caribbean Cruise Line. My chocolate cake is gluten free, grain free, dairy free, and processed sugar free. The cake taste very good and satisfies the sweet tooth. The cake is baked in a 9 inch glass pie plate without a pie crust as with the cake on the cruise.

I found this recipe on pinterest, https://healthyrecipesblogs.com/almond-flour-chocolate-cake/

Almond Flour Chocolate Cake
Tender, moist and chocolatey, this almond flour chocolate cake is a real treat and so much
healthier than a wheat flour cake.

Prep Time: 15 minutes
Cook Time: 30 minutes
Rest time: 30 minutes
Total Time: 1 hour 15 minutes
Servings: 8 servings

Ingredients:
1 teaspoon melted unsalted butter for pan
4 large eggs
1/2 cup honey
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 cup blanched almond flour (4 oz)
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (not Dutch processed)
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt (not fine salt)
1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Line a 9-inch glass pie plate with a circle of
    parchment paper. Grease the pan well.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the eggs, honey and vanilla extract.
  3. Gradually whisk in the almond flour and cocoa powder.
  4. Finally, whisk in the salt and baking soda. The batter will be fairly thin.
  5. Pour the batter into the prepared pan. Bake until center is set, and a toothpick inserted
    in it comes out clean, 30-35 minutes.

The instructions calls for weighing the almond flour instead of measuring it by the cup. I weighted 4 ounces of flour and it was more than 1/2 cup.
Cake 5.jpg

To finish the cake, the recipe calls for dusting it with powered sugar. The only powdered sugar I had was white confectioner's sugar, so I decided to make some powdered sugar from coconut sugar. I put 1/2 cup of coconut sugar in a coffee grinder and like magic, I had coconut powered sugar.
Cake 6.jpg
I found a recipe for a chocolate glaze/icing that called for powdered sugar that I thought would be great on my cake.
https://www.geniuskitchen.com/recipe/chocolate-glaze-or-frosting-250111
Cake 6-2.jpg

Ingredients:
3 tablespoons cocoa
2 tablespoons butter, melted-I used ghee
1 cup powdered sugar-I used coconut powdered sugar.
3 tablespoons warm water
1⁄2 teaspoon vanilla

Instructions:

  1. Melt your butter.
  2. Add all other ingredients.
  3. Stir until well mixed and smooth.
    Add more water if you want it thinner at this point.
    If using as icing and you think it's too thick just let it sit for a few minutes.

Since my cake was only one layer, I cut the recipe for the icing in half. It was just enough for the one layer of cake. This icing was very tasty, smooth and creamy. I now have a good go-to icing recipe.

This cake is delicious with just enough sweetness and it is easy to make. Hubby and I really enjoyed this cake.

Cake.jpg

Cake 4.jpg

Paleotwist Logo.jfif
fff winner belt.gif

Sort:  

Looks delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @grandadscookbook, it was delicious.

That looks so delicious

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you @runridefly. There is one tiny piece left, I wonder who will it.

Cruise shmooze, this is my favorite cover image of yours yet, @paleotwist, got dang.. did you see that cover image ya’all?! Great job, chef, it’s nice to have you back.

Thank you @dandays, it means a lot coming from you. I am still working on staging for my images.

For the record—I’ve never done this before but that’s arguably the nicest cover image to date, @paleotwist, gorgeous! Thanks for hanging out with us on Fridays. 👍🏿
724F5D02-463B-4A21-A09F-0E1D6AE40B29.jpeg

Thank you so much @dandays, I really appreciate it. I will keep working on my staging and photography, thank you again.

hey, @paleotwist.

That looks really, really good. And knowing it conforms with paleo restrictions makes me smile when I think of early man eating chocolate cake with chocolate icing. :)

I'm sure the neanderthal who could pull that off would have been the most popular person for miles around. :)

It sounds like the cruise was a lot of fun. I'm glad. I'm glad you also did take the opportunity to try some of the desserts, even if they weren't what you should be eating. In my case, it would help me not feel deprived, or ostracized because everyone else was eating it.

No, I wouldn't jump off a bridge if everyone else was doing it. :) I hope you get my point, though.

Very delicious. Well done. :)

Thank you @glenalbrethsen, I have that picture in my head now, early man cooking and eating this cake, lol.
We make all these work around to comply with certain diets. But sometimes, you just have to go with the flow.

Chocolate on chocolate… yes!!! I’m all about this cake @paleotwist. Your cover shot is professional grade too- well done. I’m perfecting an almond cookie recipe that I think you’ll love. I’m sweetening it with agave but honey would work better - I can’t get the good stuff where I am yet. I’ll share in a week or so.

Great post! Glad to hear you’re back on the health train. I’m still riding my highway to heart attack train. Haha… I’m telling myself, next week will be the beginning of getting back on track 🥴.

Really great job with the photography and happy food fight friend!

Thank you @puravidaville, my husband loves chocolate too. He devoured this cake. The icing was especially good.

It was easy to get back on track with my eating, since I have to do all the cooking now. It was nice while it lasted.

I will be looking for your almond cookie recipe. BTW, where is your recipe for that black bean patty you made awhile back? I want to make some for the hubby.

Thanks again @puravidaville.

Did I not post the black bean burger recipe? I’ll go back through and check. They are super easy and Dandays thought they were really good :) The almond cookies will come out by Easter. They are a traditional Easter cookie after all.

Chocolate should be its own food group 😋

Okay, there’s no official ingredients list but I mention them all pretty clearly…

Recipe Here

Let me know how they turn out !

Thank you so much. @puravidaville, they seem fairly simple. I will give them a go.

You can even mix them with sweet potato as a binder. That way they are vegan too… let me know how your burgers turn out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56855.76
ETH 2540.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24