Potluck time-Oxtail anyone ?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fff5 years ago

3C341CD0-9186-4C0B-ADD0-ACAFD1D03A59.jpeg

Greetings reggae muffins and universal foodies. Nothing fancy today or is it? I was asked to bring a little dish to a gathering after an interview show at the radio station. Knowing that Jamaicans would be in attendance, I decided to whip up some oxtail stew. Oxtail is by no means cheap so I only bought a little.
It’s one of the favorites of many a Jamaican home and abroad. It goes well with broad beans , rice and peas or white rice. CEDB23E6-54C5-474C-B214-5DD8055CF4C6.jpeg
I got some nice cuts , washed it with vinegar and lime. (Jamaicans always wash their meat) Then added all purpose seasoning. A dash of dried garlic and onion, lemon leaves , a stalk of lemon grass and all my favorite herbs.
I let that marinate for a whole week (because I bought it long in advance , a few hours would usually suffice).
B0A741DA-731D-4607-89AD-9E077FC682DD.jpeg
This is best cooked in a Dutch oven or pressure pot. I go for the pressure pot because it takes a lot less time. 9B111E24-7C97-4AD3-922A-28CB2D1E6190.jpeg
Prep some fresh veggies for the finale in the absence of broad beans. Let that pressure pot rip for an hour or so. B65F50FB-2CE8-498A-860E-A75A1845B3EB.jpeg
Open up and add veggies and spices to suit your taste. 69E3C5C5-186E-4653-981A-63986C8C0EA4.jpeg7B8FC0E0-1E15-4A5A-852E-9D21EFA9EBDA.jpeg
Different levels of the process. 3FE3D7DE-C214-4B90-BDA4-24C4C1624963.jpeg
After you’ve pressurized those bones to perfect tenderness- it’s time to add your favorite sauce. In Ja most people would go for Chinese soy sauce and a bit of ketchup. I went with some steak sauce- bbq sauce would be a winner too I think. Added a few pieces of white yams and let that simmer to satisfaction. D06891BF-D98A-4DEC-9C62-EC0F5E014C3A.jpeg82B16CDD-530C-4092-80FF-79781C4092AC.jpeg
Packed and ready to go but not before I added it to some jerk chicken and rice and peas. I don’t test my food in the cooking process but I dig in at the end. 84786CC3-457D-47EB-8858-4F67FEE84DD1.jpeg7C31C9AD-D1DD-497F-84A2-5E38958DC478.jpeg
Time for a plate before I take it away. CE594ACA-7105-4B5D-BDFD-D65C3ED0EC1F.jpeg3B82F062-B5BC-464D-9C71-05897CBB0D17.jpeg
Don’t forget your veggies. Results are in- could have been softer but good enough for country. Would have added more pepper and spice but Japanese folks don’t enjoy super spice so it was ok. 5A200251-8262-4A35-BFC7-F3F78C282BF3.jpeg
Enjoyed it with these lovely people who took some of the other things as seen in the first picture.
Another #indeliblevibration. Peace and love


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded
Sort:  

Congratulations @missaj! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

@missaj
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 73
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent
Food Coma
food coma pizza.gif
source
Good Luck
and
Have a
!BEER

Ive never had oxtail 😐. Sounds/looks freaking delicious 😎. Nice tunes as well 😎.

Thank you for passing through the musical kitchen. Oxtail is a favorite among many - good food indeed.

hi dear @missaj, it is really a very inviting dish, with your beautiful photos we cannot help but appreciate all those good things that are almost equal to the aroma! and to conclude the best thing: the photo with happy friends :-D congratulations on your work

Thank you 🙏 just sharing the things I love , stretching the hands of friendship across the globe and trying to stay on the @road2horizon.

If curry goat dat me see ? 👀 plantain ? Yo, this is foodingz. Oxtail, you know is only one me mek dat cause I don’t have a pressure cooker. Haffi plan up a propper Xmas dinner.


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Man I went to the store and invested in a pressure cooker because when I want to get my goat,mutton or oxtail going I want to get it done quickly. Dem nuh too pricey either.

Looks unbelievably delicious. Wanted to go for Jamaican tonight but settled on Japanese :D


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Good food has no flag. Japanese tonight , Jamaican tomorrow 😂

Dude this looks delicious. "marinated it for a whole week" now that is what I am talking about LOL

@tipu curate

Yes sir- the longer it stays in the goodness, the better the taste. Marinate!

Missaj, mi Bredda. Looks yum indeed, wow. Need me some oxtail to clench mi cravingz now

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes man- grab some. It never fails!

Bout time—I’m glad to see you getting the recognition you deserve @missaj. It took us a little longer than I expected to get you some love but you know what they say about good things. 😉

Excellent contender you got here, chef, thanks for making an #fff’ing mess.

Thank you sir- food is my passion. Prepping , cooking or eating. My greatest joy is in sharing it with others.

This looks so delicious @missaj! I'm interested in what you wash your meat with, I'm sure that must start the tenderizing process. Oxtail is also expensive here, but my hubby loves it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you 🙏 for washing the meat I prefer lime, lemon or vinegar. I’ve seen people use a bit of bleach but I’m not in favor of using that.

Lime, lemon or vinegar sounds perfect, I agree I would also not want to use bleach for sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59