→→→→Homemade potatoe salad, ala Jerry←←←←

in #fff5 years ago

q5dbjw.jpg
Me and my apron, over my black fleece hoodie. (My Normal around the house attire, [not the apron])
jzhsoq.jpg
Red Skinned Potatoes, just the eyes and spots removed.
(My mama would be aghast)
oa7tgw.jpg
z5k53f.jpg
Into the pot with an egg (it's going to be a small batch)
ag6ocr.jpg
cover with water
bs8z7c.jpg
Add some sea salt
0els8y.jpg
And bring to a boil
7ck245.jpg
A side note.
If any of you have seen the empty ice cream containers on
My counters, here is why.
bdtbbk.jpg

If you put peelings, or onion ends, or pieces of bone or scrap meat in your trash (which cannot be sealed) it will quickly become odorous.
q7c2p0.jpg

By using these containers (which have lids that fit rather tightly) and are disposable, and are basically PAPER, I can get rid of those peels etc without having bugs or stink in my house.
Smart, huh?
So, while the potatoes are cooking, I chopped some celery (on a slant to get the best crunch and flavor) Of course using the leaves too.
o1gtqq.jpg
Gotta have some onion
otlrfw.jpg
Finely diced
bndq6s.jpg
So here is the ensemble, as the potatoes and egg are almost done
5y5wyc.jpg
It might be a "southern thing" but in my opinion, there is no Mayonaise
Better than Dukes.
Mama would have had sweet relish, I used dill, with some lemon juice.
gz14er.jpg
Drain the taters
bjlq67.jpg
Add the other ingredients
uvvv9x.jpg
Fresh ground black pepper
o35p3l.jpg
The Mayo, then comes the egg
sq47nh.jpg
Crack the shell
xg6byt.jpg
(I usually do a better job, but the egg was soft boiled)
xyf31l.jpg
Chop and mix all together:
nhei9d.jpg
And 𝐯𝐨𝐢𝐥𝐚̀!

Potato Salad ala Jerry

by
Jerry E Smith
©1/2/2020
All images original



These .gifs were created for me by @coquiunlimited; many thanks

9bolap.png
cyktlq.png
This .gif was created by @elgeko




Sort:  

Hey @jerrytsuseer your potato salad really looks good!

Thank you so much @lizelle, it is almost gone, but it tastes really good!
(Or would that be beCAUSE it tastes really good?)

Potatoe salad looks great. Having harvested 104 lbs of potatoes this year, potato salad sounds like a good idea.
IMG_6271.JPG

I love egg in potato salad, but never thought of boiling the egg with the potatoes, I will from now on @jerrytsusser.

Wow! @thebigsweed, them's a lot of taters. I take it you're a farmer then?
Self-sufficiency is a great thing, but it's a lot of work too.
I love potatoes any way you can prepare them (at least I've not found one yet I didn't like.)
I don't mind the egg when it's in the salad (tuna and chicken salad as well) just not as much as I grew up eating in what was prepared by my mama and others.
Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

@jerrytsuseer
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 76
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
babyfoodcoma.gif
source
Good Luck
and
Have a
!BEER


Hey @jerrytsuseer, here is a little bit of BEER from @foodfightfriday for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

A very unique Salad

This post has been appreciated and featured in daily quality content rewards. Keep up the good work.

I don't like potato salads but I might as well take a shot by making and eating one.

Posted using Partiko Android

Glad you stopped by @gailbelga. I've grown up with it, being a staple in the south. You can make it and (unless you have a huge family) it can be used in multiple meals.
As you can see, my recipe is hardly the norm: I'm not crazy about boiled eggs, most people don't include raw celery or onion and most use sweet relish.

You might like mine; give it a try

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

Congratulations @jerrytsuseer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 6000 comments. Your next target is to reach 6500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

there is nothing like homemade potato and egg salad. I don't use the pickled relish though, I tried it once and no one in my family liked it. 🤷‍♀️
Good job @jerrytsuseer.

Thank you @farm-mom, I learned to make it plain, nothing but potatoes, boiled egg, sweet relish and mayonnaise.
That is cool, but I am a bit more complex; I like some CRUNCH (raw celery and raw onion) and I like some spice/snap (vinegar in the dill relish) and sometimes I even add some pepperoncini's for an added touch of spike.
I'm an "use what you have on hand" kind of cook.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57621.01
ETH 3094.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32