Replicating An Old Favorite & Behind the Scenes in the Kitchen ~ #itsnotallglamoroussteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fff4 years ago

IMG_5921.jpg

When I dropped out of college at the ripe age of 20 and moved back home, I needed a job. I had previously worked in retail in my teens, Target mainly. But I knew some people who worked at this restaurant and the tips were supposed to be pretty good, so I applied. Within a week I was training as a server for a restaurant called Big Bowl. It's a Chinese and Thai restaurant, the one I worked at was in a large shopping mall in Minnetonka, called Ridgedale. You can catch a glimpse of this mall in the movie Juno, if you'd like. I recall eating a ton of Asian food for the next few years, seeing as I was around it all the time, it just made sense.

I was just walking to my car the other day and caught a wiff of something in the air, not sure what, but it reminded me of one of their signature dishes I would eat on the reg, Panang Curry Chicken. It's essentially a peanut-butter based coconut curry sauce with rice, veggies, and your choice of protein. I attempted this twice within one week, the first with chicken that I was a little disappointed with, and then one with shrimp to see if I could perfect it better.

I YT'd some recipes and found one that was most like the one I remembered. Luckily, there is an authentic Asian grocery store down the street from my house, so I went there and got most of the necessities. Unfortunately, the only ingredient I could not find for the life of me, was kaffir lime, which really is an important ingredient. It just elevates all the flavors, taking a 7/10 dish to a 10/10 dish...so while I was really happy with how these two attempts turned out, they could have been better...but I'm not one to complain.

These are the main ingredients I used:

IMG_5907.jpg

  • Julienne red and green peppers
  • Lemon grass
  • Galangal (Asian ginger)
  • Diced white onion (not pictured)
  • Diced red and green peppers for garnish

IMG_5906.jpg

  • Coconut milk
  • Red curry paste
  • Asian peanut butter sauce

Please advise, if you're going to attempt to re-create this dish, or try your own version, this is a very important step. Don't shake your coconut milk! It will say to do so on the can, but don't. For the curry base, you want the top part of the coconut milk. It is thick, as it has separated from the liquid underneath. It is more like a coconut cream. Use all the cream for the base, and then add the rest of the milk towards the end.

The curry base should look something like this:

IMG_5913.jpg

I'm also using a wok as you can see, if you have one, you definitely want to use it for dishes like this.

Once all the ingredients are all in, it will look something like this:

IMG_5920.jpg

This was the second attempt, this one with shrimp. I finished the dish in my large saute pan.

Once the flavors have all developed (remember, taste as you go!), fill a bowl up half way with white rice and pour over the curry and top with chopped cilantro. YUM!

IMG_5921.jpg

I was fairly impressed with how close I came to re-living the days of slamming this meal down in between a double shift. If I were able to find kaffir lime, I'm sure I would have been sent back to the past and had some serious nostalgia. But I was happy none the less.

Now. What I think has, not necessarily been missing from all these food posts, but I feel like is being hidden from view, is the chaos and mess that comes along with making some crazy #fff dishes.

We always see such beautiful plates here on #fff. Whether home made or at a restaurant, we usually see the show quality side of everything. Well I am here to break that mold today. Here is the mess I made while making this dish, on top of everything else in my kitchen that is already a complete disaster.

IMG_5922.jpg

IMG_5923.jpg

IMG_5925.jpg

IMG_5924.jpg

It's not all glitz and glamour in the kitchen, even though it may seem that way on the internet. Making delicious food can be a messy endeavour, but that's part of cooking.

I hope you enjoyed a little sneak peek into my cooking space, my mess, and my attempt at an old favorite. Thank you for taking a little time out of your day to spend with me, I look forward to seeing what the rest of you cooked up this week!

Happy Friday y'all! Cook on!

Sort:  

Eye’fa king heart anything curry! Dude, your contenders have been so consistent at getting better and better. A long time ago, the grilled salmon, I said something along the lines of “my favorite contender of yours yet.” What I’m trying to say is, you outdid that one quite some time ago and then outdid all of those with this one.

Great job, @intothewild, congratulations on the reward. Good lookin out @curie. 👍🏿

And I loved the movie, Juno, too! Really. My choice flicks are romantic comedies and I don’t care who knows. My homeboys even call them “< insert my name here >flicks” rather than “chick flicks.”

Always a pleasure to hang out with you dude, see you soon. Enjoy the rest of your week.

You really know how to pat a guy on his back, @dandays! I love curry! Asian, Indian, whatever other types there are, pour it down my gullet and slap me silly. I appreciate the compliments, hopefully I can keep em' comin'.
I'll let you keep the title of chick flick king...my wife always tries and gets me to watch movies and 10 minutes in I can usually tell if it is a movie I will enjoy, or if it's one of 'her' flicks. "Aight, I'm goin' to bed now", hahaha....ok, ok, ok, I'll budge, how to lose a guy in 10 days is pretty good. But I love me some McConaughey and double love me some Kate Hudson.
The pleasure is all mine, bud. Hope you had a great Thanksgiving on the other side of the pond. Enjoy the rest of your week!

Love the food and the sight of the work zone.

Glad you enjoyed the food and my mess! Thanks for swinging by @missaj!

Peace and love to you and yours.

Now bring me a plate of anything spicy and I'm hooked, add shrimps and you've caught me, hook, line and sinker! Your mess sounds delicious!

This mess was delicious! Spice and shrimp are definitely a dynamic duo in my kitchen. I wish I could send you a plate! Thanks for commenting, @lizelle!

I really enjoyed making the explanation to make this meal. The coconut milk warning is very special (I would never have known). The kitchen mess is true! You can never make a good meal without getting dirty. Thank you for this formidable recipe. A big hello @intothewild

Thanks @marcybetancourt! Hello right back atcha! Glad you enjoyed this recipe!

You know I have always been amazed how fast I can take our nice clean tidy kitchen and totally destroy it with one meal. MUAHAHAHA

I have never really eaten a bunch of Thai dishes, but I have perfected the grilled ham and cheese 😜I keep telling myself I need to branch out a bit and search the FFF archives and try some of the dishes people make. This is gonna be one of them... When I finally get around to doing it.
Way to send the food flyin' and...
Clean the Kitchen!!! LOL
Cheers

Dude, step off your cherry picker and onto some thai profiles. I mean, it's no ham and cheese, but it gets the job done.
I expect a #fff thai dish in the next month, so get moving! And don't forget to clean your kithcen!!!

great job dear @intothewild, i love crazy asian dishes !! and yes, it was fun to enter your kitchen :-)) and don't worry, when I make desserts it's even worse! next time try searching for kaffir lime online !!
congratulations on your curie vote

Thanks for the tip to look online, I hadn't thought of that. However, I did make this dish on a whim, so I'll have to plan ahead next time so I can wait on delivery. I am sure desserts are worse! So many different mixing bowls and utensils....and flour!!! It gets everywhere!
Thanks for swinging by @road2horizon!

Great post, food looks so good. I would love to taste that shrimp.
Good job showing the mess that comes with a the cooking.
So true, we all want to present these artfully photographed finished dishes. But, then comes doing the DISHES.😣

Thanks @farm-mom! Dishes are never fun, but it comes with the territory. I wish you could taste the shrimp too!, they were delicious!!!

Ugh, busy (or maybe steem in general is slow today...posts not showing up or doubling, weird.)

Hello Hello!

It looks totally delicious, the ingredients are easy to find and I'm encouraging to do it

Greetings from Venezuela!

Hola Hola!

It was totally delicious! I hope you give it a try!

Salutations from Minneapolis, MN!

Hi intothewild,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you, Curie! I appreciate it!

Congratulations @intothewild! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65399.87
ETH 2939.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66