Grandpa Gotta Cook—Homemade Hibachi Steak, Shrimp & Rice

in #fff5 years ago

Last Week, On Grandpa Gotta Eat...

I detailed my first encounter with the food trailer Kento: Hibachi On Wheels. I mentioned buying the Hibachi Steak and Shrimp, which came with Hibachi rice and vegetables. I talked about the portions and the price—$13.50. Later, I wondered if I could come up with the same Hibachi flavor, but for less. And how much less?

Today, on Grandpa Gotta Cook, I take on the food trailer in taste and price. Except the food trailer doesn't know. I'd like to keep it that way. In case, you know, I ever decide to go back. Like if my meal was a disaster, or actually cost more.

This week's edition of Grandpa Gotta Cook is posted in conjunction with the friendly foodslingers at @foodfightfriday, where the food and the fun never end.


IMG_2102.jpg

Inside The Numbers

I needed to feed six people this time (the oldest son and his wife were over—yes, there five month old son was with them but he's not on solid food yet), so in order to beat Kento's cost, I needed to come in under $81. A few of the ingredients I had at home, but the majority, and the most costly were still waiting to be bought at the store. Sirloin steak, shrimp, yummy sauce, soy sauce, sesame seed oil, zucchini, bell peppers and mushrooms.

Rice, eggs, bacon and onion I already had, so the Japanese fried rice was pretty much set.

Cooking

I started on the Hibachi Steak first, cutting it up into small chunks. Then, it was supposed to sear in oil and butter for a few minutes, then be set aside for the vegetables.


IMG_2103.jpg

The vegetables were supposed to cook together for a few minutes, after being microwaved for a few. Once that was done, the meat came back in, and then the shrimp was added. Everything was stirred and then at the end, some sesame oil was poured onto the mixture and allowed a minute or two to punctuate the flavor.


IMG_2105.jpg

While this was happening, the rice I had previously started in the cooker was ready to go, but before I could fry it, I needed bacon and onions. So I got those things going. The bacon was precooked so basically it was waiting on the onions to get more translucent.


IMG_2106.jpg

Now, in this version of Hibachi rice, I also needed egg, so I got on scrambling those into fairly small pieces, to be added in with the bacon and the onions.


IMG_2107.jpg

With the rice stirred in, the whole concoction sat frying for a few minutes, where in the soy sauce was added so that it took on a little more flavor and a brown color.


IMG_2108.jpg

Taste Test

The finished plate came out looking like the image below. Unlike Kento, I didn't separate out the steak, shrimp and vegetables, so it looks more like a stir fry, which is kind of what it became. Instead of each meat or vegetable getting grilled, that didn't really happen, so the flavor didn't really reflect the full Hibachi experience.

That said, though, the food was still really good. The rice essentially evaporated. I probably could have made more of it and still there not be any left over. I've already had a couple requests to make more.

As for the meat and vegetables, I think they were all cooked well with plenty of flavor, just not the grilled part.

Which means next time I either have to do things separately (meaning more pans being used), or I actually put them on the grill, which I think I'll try.

When it came down to it, though, the yummy sauce was the hit. We came close to using half the bottle, even though I added some water to help it last longer. Cool thing is, I didn't have to make it.


IMG_2110.jpg

So, Taste Was Good, Just Not Hibachi...

What about the cost?

Well, all told, the ingredients I bought cost $42.42. However, I didn't use all of the steak or zucchini, sesame seed oil, or yummy sauce, and none of the soy sauce, since I found out later we still had some of that. That knocks off $14.75, reducing the cost to $27.67. Add up the stuff I had at home—The rice was two cups worth from a big bag bought at Costco, bacon was about the third of the bag, the eggs we bought from friends (I used two), a fourth of onion costs less than 30¢, a bit of soy sauce, oil and butter. Let's say about $3.00. That brings it up to $30.67.

This was one of the faster meals I've managed to put together. All told, prep and cooking was around 1.5 hours. I have no idea how much the guy at Kento makes an hour, but I bet it's not more than $15.00. So let's say total labor equals $22.50. That puts the cost at $53.17.

Of course, there's the electricity used and other expenses, that we could add on, plus whatever I would like my profit to be, but even if I added in those things and took $1 a meal for my profit, I think I could still manage a total cost of the meals for six people at $59.70, which conveniently works out to my $9.95 a plate target.

Not Quite An Apples To Apples Comparison

But I'm still saying I could do it for less and make a decent a profit.

Now, I've just got to get the Hibachi flavor going.

Okay. That's all I've got. What will I have next week? Will I cook or just eat? Your guess is as good as mine.

Ciao!


All images courtesy of Glen Anthony Albrethsen

Food Fight Friday is a weekly contest that anyone is welcome to enter. Merely post about food on Friday, use the #fff tag, and then if you so desire, go and read other posts, as you might want to help pick the food fight champion of the week.

Sort:  

The meal you prepared looks as good as the one from Kento, Hibachi On Wheels.
The beauty of this meal you prepared is that you can go back for seconds. 😁.
I don't know how far you had to travel to get to Kentos, but with the cost of gas, you could have added in a couple of bucks for fuel.

Hey, @bigsweed.

It wasn't that far away, actually, but I suppose adding the cost of getting there would be a fair thing to do. Definitely could have gone back for seconds (and I think some actually did). I'm glad you thought it looked as good. Needed to give it the grilled look and taste a little more. :)

@glenalbrethsen, this meal looks delicious. I love the hibachi food cooked on stove. Great combination of foods. I had to look up the yummy sauce and it sounds good.

Hey, @paleotwist.

I think it was pretty tasty. Just need to grill it, and as I've been thinking about it, the sesame seed oil probably needed to show up sooner—I don't think a minute was enough.

re: sauce

Yeah, I think that should be Yum Yum Sauce. Since I cook on Saturday and don't write it up until the following Friday, some things can get lost in the translation. :)

Hello @glenalbrethsen, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you, @creativecrytpo. Very much appreciated, as always. I hope all is well with the project. :)

Next time you're cooking... Can I came over? Cause that looks so yummy 😍

Pleeeeeeeease chef

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey, @buonalucy.

Sure come on over. I only cook once a week though, so it could become quite expensive going back and forth. :) It's pretty good, but it's not THAT good. :)

You're very kind to say all of this, though. Thank you for that. :)

When I got to the first picture of the steak, I thought that was all for you. 😂 But for 6 people, or are you lying to us, it really is just you 😁

I like all of those ingredients except for the mushrooms. Any way egg fried rice with bacon in? I want that. 🥓🥚🍚😃

Hey, @pjau.

I wish it were just for me, but nope, gotta share. :)

The meal I got from Kento the week before didn't have mushrooms. It was zucchini, broccoli and onions, so I guess you can pick and choose your own vegetables. We happen to like mushrooms here (one of a few things we seem to agree on).

Well, you and everyone else when it comes to the rice. That didn't last long at all. I had more rice cooked than what I ended up frying, but I thought, surely that big pan of rice will be enough. Nope. :)

zucchini

In the UK we call that courgette. 😁

rice

It's never enough!! 😂

@glenalbrethsen
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 42
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
2CEE9C63-C646-4F11-854B-AEED926F621B.gif
Good Luck

Much obliged as always, @foodfightfriday. Thank you for the weekly fun. :)

I like when you do these comparisons. Your plate of food probably tastes better too. At least when I make something, make all the fixings, all the sauces, emulating a dish I bought out somewhere, I am usually thrilled to find out it tastes better at home. Maybe it’s a combination of all my efforts and the ability to enjoy the dish in my underwear that makes the homemade taste sweeter but I swear it does taste sweeter. By sweet, I mean cool. Haha

Happy food fight @glenalbrethsen!

Hey, @puravidaville.

I think the main issue here is, it didn't taste grilled, so next time I will need to remedy that. I'm not sure if that meant better, but it does mean different. There are plenty of times where the food tastes as good or better, though. I agree with that completely.

You’re doing great with this cooking thing Glen. Pat yourself on the back Chef, you deserve it.

Another successful meal! Congratulations grandpa! lol

All the food looks delicious, especially that plate of beef. Yum, yum....

Thanks, Vincent.

I agree, it all did taste pretty good. The beef in particular, along with the rice and the Yum Yum sauce.

Next time, though, it's all going on the grill. :)

Have a great weekend, Glen. :-)

Shrimp and meat are not a good combination .. but a perfect taste to have😍 congratulations on successfully execute your own hibachi @glenalbrethsen .. I'm Full just by looking at the food...you are not gonna make me have the second round of dinner😷

Hey, @cicisaja.

Just like most of my first attempts, things didn't go exactly as planned, but I think it's something I need to do again. Maybe in a month or two.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30