NEW KITCHEN TOOLS, NEW TOY FOR FARM-MOM #fff

in #fff4 years ago

Happy Friday all my foodie friends.
Hope everyone enjoyed Thanksgiving and somehow avoided the dreaded food coma.

It's fun to get new kitchen tools, gives you another reason to hang out in the best room in the house. You know, the room that's warm, smells delicious, attracts all the guests. A place where the pot lids are being lifted to get "just a taste" and the place I spend most of my time.

That's right, the kitchen, the place where all the best chefs on #fff hang out.

Two weeks ago I was down in New Jersey visiting my son, a very pregnant daughter-in-law and my darling grand-daughter Peyton. While there, I was offered a brand new air fryer, it was a gift my daughter-in-law received when she got married. She had forgotten she had it, found it while cleaning out a closet. Since she forgot she had it, she purchased her own and always raved how much she enjoyed cooking with it.

Well, I was quick to say YES when she offered it to me, no need to have two of the same kitchen tools, unless it's a veggie/potato peeler. Two peelers are a must if you expect to get help with the peeling of those 5 pounds of #spuds.😉

Introducing the koolest kitchen tool ever. The" Air Fryer", she's a beauty don't you think?

IMG_7978.JPG

As soon as I returned to the #farm, I got right on the directions to see what I could do with this baby. Now, I am a woman, so
I read the manuals from start to finish, all the safety rules, do's and don'ts and the directions. Now, guys, on the other hand, tend to just take a look, plug it in and say "who needs directions", I've got this. Yeah they've got it alright, until they find that extra screw or they're lost on some strange country highway.😜

IMG_7984.JPG

Once I had it all figured out, it was time to test her out. Will this odd, strange looking gadget really FRY with AIR?
With all the potatoes we harvested this season from our #garden, I thought spuds would be my first attempt.
I chose thin skinned reds.

IMG_7977.JPG

I used fresh parsley, rosemary, thyme, pink salt, black pepper and just one, uno, 1, tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil.
Then tossed the studs around in that sweet smelling mix.

IMG_7980.JPG

Placed the seasoned potatoes in the frying? basket.

IMG_7982.JPG

Since I had read all about how to use this gizmo, I did the shake, just as directed.🤷‍♂️
@thebigsweed thought he was going to get a little dance routine from me, but he hadn't read the Directions. 😘

IMG_7985.JPG

Lo and behold, this dang thing actually did "Air Fry" my little red beauties. They were crispy on the outside and tender on the inside, just perfect, perfectly YUMMY !!

IMG_7986.JPG

Clean up was a breeze, no greasy mess, and far less calories then the usual home fries.

I'll be using this often for sure, so sure am I, that It was given the honor of prime real estate, my kitchen counter.

So, on to the second new kitchen gadget.

Now I have been cooking for well over 40 years, I enjoy cooking for my family. In all those years I have never owned one of these. I always check my food by sight and taste and other little tricks to test the doneness of food. My daughter-in-law always asks me how do I know for sure if it's done if you don't have one of these. I bought one today, my first ever.

IMG_7995.JPG

I will give it a try, I just hope I remember, I actually own one. hehe

Another first for me was going shopping today, "BLACK FRIDAY". Two big reasons why I ventured out today, 1) we were out of wine😉and 2) we are expecting a big snow storm. I have to say, I will never, repeat, never shop on this dreaded day again.
People are nuts! It's a shopping frenzy, almost as bad as our food frenzies every Friday.

I do have to say though, the prices were discounted on so many things.

The third and final gadget that is in the kitchen, at least for now, was so discounted that I could not resist a new toy for the farm-mom.

Can I have a drum roll please.

Check out this new, red (my favorite color)……….

IMG_7997.JPG

That's right my friends, brand new lap top all to myself.
Wow, cool right? Now all I have to do is read all the manuals and directions. My hubby has it plugged in already.🤨

IMG_7996.JPG

Big happy shout out to @dandays, @jlsplatts and @idig for keeping us kool in the kitchen, no matter how messy it gets. Thanks guys. I also want to thank our new sponsor @appreciator, your support is awesome.😁

Enjoy the weekend my friends, see ya'll next FRIDAY!!!

Sort:  

Airfryer, making fries without oil must help avoid food coma, at least a little!

Highly recommend getting an air fryer, mine works great and if I can avoid those extra greasy calories, yet still get crispy food, that's a win-win.
Thanks for the visit.

How differently that second paragraph would’ve read had it said pot “heads” instead of lids!! Where were you on that one, autocorrect?! Oh crap, that’s funny.

You’re so right about instructions. One time i was putting together a dresser and my buddies wife was going through the directions and even said “they’re written for women.” I said “why would you say that, because the first thing we do is look for the instructions to throw away?” She said “yes, that’s exactly why.”

:light bulb: I was like “hey, I resemble that remark!”

So uh... did you get to shakin or what?! 🤔 Guess I better go back and read. The regifting part, how cool would it have been had you been the one who gave them that air fryer like “Eh, well then give it back!”

Always a pleasure to hang out with you on Fridays, @farm-mom. God bless the Jurg’s. Enjoy the rest of your weekend and happy Thanksgiving from Greece.

Even if I had bought the air fryer for her, I don't think I would remember, I am a pot lid, short term memory is pretty shot after all these years.
Now if you said I was a headpot, then I would know what you meant.😁😅🤣

@farm-mom My Mother bought me an air-fryer that is also a dehydrator, it will cook fish without all the oil and mess of frying. Makes a pretty good meatloaf. The dehydrator works good, too... I have never used a temp gauge but my husband bought one and is always testing the meat when I cook it, No need to it is done when I say it is done. Congrats on the new laptop. Yes, I always read the manuals, too. But hubby never reads them then he complains when something doesn't work right. MEN, right!!!

hahaha men, they all the same! I love that it is so easy to clean up.
I am now thinking of all the different foods I can cook in this silly machine. Going to try a meat loaf, why not right? I don't think mine can dehydrate, hehe... I'll be re-reading the dreaded directions.
Thanks for dropping by, have a wonderful day.

@farm-mom the one you show in the picture is not the one that has the dehydrator/rotisserie, the only thing I do not like it I have not found a chicken small enough for the rotisserie, maybe cornish game hens will do the trick.

No the one I have is just a single basket, not the newest model with dehydrator. But I find I can roast a chicken large enough to feed my hubby and I, but when the family come for dinner, the oven goes on and the food flies.
Thanks for dropping by.

Hi. I purchased an air-fryer on the recommendation of another family member. It was last year in September, so I purchased 5 of them. I gave them as Christmas gifts for my kids and other family.

They absolutely love them, and cook everyday utilizing them. They tell me that was the best gift they have received ever.

Sadly, I haven't fired mine up yet. But just knowing it works makes me happy.

Give it a try soon, I think it's a great addition to any kitchen. Best part, clean up is a breeze.
Have a wonderful day, thanks for stopping by.

What else can we air fry? I want to put everything in that gizmo. What about zucchini chips, or carrot sticks, maybe some apple skins? Is the last one a little weird? I’m thinking along the lines of dried fruit :).

Happy T day @farm-mom! It looks like your house is overflowing with love and food from over here :)

Good morning my friend. Yes, from what I can see, dried fruit should work well. I used my cousin's dehydrator for my herbs but I also did some strawberries and they were like candy. The kids never suspected it was just fruit. Going back to the manual, hehe, to see if fruit is on the menu.
Have a wonderful day.

Oh yes about those strawberries. Gods candy right there. 😋 (slight drool going on)

🤤me too, slight grapes going on. Man, life is good.😎

Perma-blessed 🥰

Snazzy laptop you got there @farm-mom and what a fabulous new toy for the kitchen, those spuds look so crispy and delicious! And all that with air-frying, just amazing! I'm sure there's going to be many experiments coming from the farm kitchen! Enjoy!

I feel like such a lucky girl, new air-fryer and new lap top in the same week. Oh boy!
Yes, working on a try out meal in air fryer, maybe a #fff contender🤷‍♀️

🤔 something to buy this Christmas? Thank you for sharing.

I think it would make a wonderful Christmas gift, honestly, it really works great.

@farm-mom
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 71
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
08F6D3C4-2E31-4DE3-821B-8E24317A2F51.gif
source
Good Luck
and
Have a
!BEER

Good job, thanks.



Hey @farm-mom, here is a little bit of BEER from @foodfightfriday for you. Enjoy it!

Join [Steem Power Up Day] (https://steampeak.com/spud/@beerlover/the-1st-beer-power-up-day) at the 1. of December and power up BEER

oh yes, nothing like a cold one, thanks

We have a couple of those. They work great. The plastic pieces are quite thin and a piece on one of ours fell off. We cooked food for our family and they liked it so much they bought them for their houses. This seems like a really good way to heat food. The energy usage is minimal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61726.60
ETH 3041.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86