IT'S FRIDAY...#FFF...HERE WE GO

in #fff5 years ago

We had our last Christmas Celebration this past weekend, with my whole family at the farm. It was total mayhem. Kids, dogs and assorted adults, at least we try to think of ourselves as the ADULTS. Our farm has such wonderful memories for my four ADULT children. Now we are adding those fun memories for our grand-children.

IMG_0729.JPG

It's a long weekend of laughing, sharing, and just enjoying each others company.

IMG_0746.JPG

With a packed frig and all these mouths to feed, everyone gets involved in the kitchen, which by the way never closes. My sons have been known to spark up the grill at midnight for burgers, after playing cards, or some other crazy game.

IMG_0866.JPG

OK...NOW THE FOOD...This was inspired by my daughter-in-law. Since we have our supply of our homemade syrup, what better than FRENCH TOAST...But made with this beautiful CHALLAH BREAD.

IMG_0796.JPG

Sliced nice and thick with cinnamon and sprinkle of powdered sugar

IMG_0802.JPG

YUMMY

IMG_0804.JPG

Yup, needless to say that was just 1 of the many meals we shared, cooked and cleaned up together like a team of pros. Mama bear, which I am referred to from time to time, was one VERY HAPPY MAMA. Nothing like time together, with nothing to do except HAVE A BLAST !!!!

IMG_0941.JPG

AND IT WAS A WHITE CHRISTMAS...

IMG_0840.JPG

Wishing all my Foodie Friends happiness, peace and a belly full of FOOD !

Sort:  

Congratulations @farm-mom! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts. Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Yum & looks like alot of fun :D.

The red dog looks like a pooch i use to have :). Thanks for sharing @farm-mom

hey friend how's it going? feelin good today I hope, thanks for the nice comment

:) Welcome. It has been a good day, thank you

so glad to hear that, I am a worry wart, so stay strong my friend

Hey @farm-mom, Your post has been determined to be Splat-Worthy!! Therefore You’ve been Splatted by the Splatz Curation Trail
E4D5E914-6CE9-4EA4-950A-18B199BC20DE.gif
source
Rewarding Your Original Work
With an Upvote
And
Resteem
If you find posts worthy of a nasty Splatin’ feel free and mention @splatz in a Your reply to their post. Call me out!!

Thank you, honored to be splatz

Looks like a great time and celebration indeed, @farm-mom.

I guess were in similar parts of the journey, since my boys are grown up (so they say), married, and both with a child. We also had the lot of them together for Christmas, and it was also nice. Unfortunately, the cooking and cleaning was not as shared as I would like it to be, let alone my wife. Not sure why that it is, but it's a dynamic I hope will change with time.

Any tips? :)

I'm glad you were able to enjoy this family time together and the food sounds like it was awesome, too.

Good morning ! @glenalbrethsen the only tips I can give you is start them young, I worked 2nd shift at the hospital, so I always cooked for the family during the day and my hubby would serve it up. That being said, my boys learned to clear the table and do the dishes, since their Dad was the enforcer. Same with doing their own laundry, each had their color basket, their own color towels, and were taught how to work the washer/dryer by the time they were 8 or 9...worked great ! Now it's automatic...oh the joys of parenting ! Enjoy your day !

IMG_1206.JPG

Very true, @farm-mom. It is best to start them out early, and we did. I don't know if they actually did their own laundry, but they did have their own rooms to clean and other household chores to take care of.

The issue in these gatherings has not been them as much as it is their wives. They are both very good people, but the idea of helping out when someone else is doing something seems to be lost on them, even when they're asked politely to do so.

I've been chalking it up to maturity, and I still believe that's true, but in the case of one, her parents never made her or her sibling do anything around the house growing up, so if there's anyone else to do something, including the son that's married to her, then she will automatically defer. She's gotten better at it, but she's still far from ever offering to help, let alone doing it.

The other one is better at many things, but is prone to mood swings and so she might be willing to help one moment, and then the next disappear to some other part of the house in a huff.

Anyway. As you say. The joys of parenting. :)

Good morning @farm-mom, great entry! Ain’t #fff great? Family, or friends, or both, food and Christmas. It’s all welcome in the kitchen... as it should be. 👍🏿

Welcome back from Christmas, great to see you in the kitchen again. You have a beautiful family, ya’all are blessed.

But what’s all of that white stuff on the ground?? And, I didn’t know shirts came with sleeves and what’s up with all of you guys’ shorts being so long? Long sleeves all over the place; your ears, head, legs, what’s that all about?!

hahahah...yeah gotta layer your clothes up here this time of year. BUT me and the sweed head out next Saturday for the Florida keys for the month, can't wait since that funny white stuff is falling from the sky right now and prediction is 10-20 inches before it stops oh well... in the kitchen now making a cream of spinach, mushroom and shrimp soup...fresh bread in the oven. Love cooking on snowy days

Danget, now I want a snow day.

Good luck in Round 26 of
Food Fight Friday
May your contender survive and not be placed in a permanent food coma.
125BBBF8-726F-41EA-BB39-4F1622EE09F8.gif

FFF = Food Fight Friday
FFF = Family Food Fun
I can’t help but smile when I see families getting together and enjoying each other’s company. Enjoying some laughs and some good ol’ fashioned home cooked meals.

That French toast has a drool effect of about 8. Dang!!! With the cinnamon and a light sprinkle of powdered sugar C’MON!!!
Thanks for joining us on Food Fight Friday!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am so proud of myself, I remembered yesterday was Friday...hence...#FFF...ya know once you retire, days of the week seem to not matter so much...LOVE the Freedom

Even when I working half the time I don’t know what day it is. Lol. Aahhh retirement...that sounds nice. No schedule but your own.

Posted using Partiko iOS

With four kids, my hubby had 2 jobs and I had one...college years were the toughest, at one point we had 3 boys in college at the same time...thank goodness my daughter started couple years after they were out...so our retirement truly has changed our lifestyle...yup no schedule at all...YEAH

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62280.19
ETH 2997.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.08