AS THE SUN GOES DOWN, THE GRILL HEATS UP #FFF

in #fff5 years ago

A beautiful sun set on Sanibel Island, southwest coast of Florida USA.

IMG_9852.JPG

As some of you know my hubby and I are snowbirds who flew the coup of the frigid Upstate NY temperatures. January 23, 2020 was our departure date and have already visited St Augustine, on the northeastern coast of Florida.
Great city, with so much history, " unique " shops, restaurants, trolley cars, beautifully preserved historical sites.
This is where I purchased some wonderful spices and delicious teas.

IMG_9460.JPG

After an excellent day at the beach culminating with an awesome sunset, the @thebigsweed and I headed home to fire up the grill and chow down.

IMG_9676.JPG

On the menu tonight was T-bone steaks with a special dry rub blend of spices from St Augustine.

IMG_9679.JPG

IMG_9680.JPG

Along side those mouth watering steaks, I grilled an array of fresh veggies and then added them to macaroni and vodka sauce.

IMG_9686.JPG

I garnished the end product with some cantaloupe, cherry tomatoes and radishes, a bigsweed favorite.

IMG_9682.JPG

IMG_9684.JPG

A meal fit for a king, or my hubby.

IMG_9689.JPG

I wish I could share this meal with all my #foodie friends.
I wish I could share that beautiful sunset with all you fingerlick' food fanatics who frolic on Fridays with a bunch of great chefs and story tellers.
Oh wait, I think once I push that button I will be sharing.😀

IMG_9854.JPG

Just have to thank our buddies, @dandays, @idig and @jlsplatts for keeping the kitchen kool.

Have an exceptional weekend y'all #foodiesunite

Sort:  

@farm-mom
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 81
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent
Food Coma
kramer turkey.gif
source
Good Luck
and
Have a
!BEER

Awee, love being in the #fff fray

Nice to see you guys living the dream good for you!!

perfect vacation so far, weather has been awesome.

Thanks so much for the generous upvote @dorian-lee.
@tipu the support is so appreciated.😊

Ohh right now I am wishing I could be a snow bird myself

Love the beach scenes and the food looks so good ;)

Good evening @tattoodjay, yes I am sure you would love it here.
It really is a nice change for us, I love the beaches here during the winter months, not too hot. A nice 75 average I would guess.
Enjoy the heat, in the house...hehe

75 in Winter I would love that LOL

We have nice beaches here but when the temp is near freezing point i find it hard to get motivated to go to them LOL

Oh yeah, I love the Jersey shore in summer and even in early fall, but after that it's just too cold. Now that we are retired, it's south in the winter for sure.

Originally i had considered moving south when I retire but were going to move closer tot he Grandkids so will still be dealing with cold winters

Hey @tattoodjay, I sure get the staying close to family, nothing makes me happier than a visit with the grand-kids. Thank goodness I am less than 3 hours from all my kids when I am home in NY. bUT a little free time in the south is just what I need after the holiday frenzy that goes on in our household.

Ohh I can imagine the need for a break after the frenzy of the holiday season


Hey @farm-mom, here is a little bit of BEER from @foodfightfriday for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

THANKS, love drinking buddies.

Wow @farm-mom, looks like you're having a swell time in warmer climes, enjoy it! Gorgeous photos there! The food is not too shabby either, looks real yum!

Good day to you @lizelle, we are having a superb VA-KAY.
Hope you are doing well with b&b guests.
Has it cooled down for you yet? I have to say, Florida is very humid also but it's not too bad this time of year. Summers here are brutal, with high humidity and soaring temperatures. Sounds like your neck of the woods.😏

From gleaming @thebigsweed post, I realized we may be sistas...Complete control of the camera and the food, as our wonderful hubbies stick with the rules. Hehehe
Enjoy the weekend!

We are starting to enjoy the odd cooler day but then the heat comes back and we realise it's still Feb here, probably the worst month as far as humidity goes, Florida sounds just like Durban!
We currently have ladies here who came for a girlie weekend, so every so often we hear the giggles and cackles, but that's what us gals do when we get together not so, they're having a real fun weekend so far;);)
We are fortunate to have husbands who indulge us with our photo shoots and more;)

Sounds so cool that you have such different guests all the time. Glad the weather is cooperating. peace

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57972.96
ETH 2357.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36