Freewriting Frenzy Friday - The Moon and Stars

in #fff-challenge6 years ago

To start here is a little bit about the fff-challenge. Freewriting Fridays Frenzy

Topic

What is it about the night? What comes to your mind when you think night💙 Romanticize!

h2hatow4ty.jpg

Smartphones and the moon don't like each other too much, but we still try!!

w3m81smvw0.png

Some people are day dwellers and others are night dwellers. I am a night dweller. I have always felt more alive at that part of the day. When twilight comes, the sun is fading usually with the most amazing shades of oranges, pinks, reds, and yellows. The sky above is darkening going from the sky blue of the day into the indigo of the night. Seeing the stars pop in one by one until they are little sparkles in the sky. The moon in all of her phases is mesmerizing. To sit outside at night, lay back and stare at the sky, the stars, the moon it seems to erase any worries you might have. The peacefulness that comes at night is very comforting, almost magical.

I would take night trips to the beach sitting in the sand, listening to the waves and seeing the moon shine across the ocean. Sadly, a Polaroid or Insta-Max camera could never capture the moment appropriately. To have had the ability then to take pictures as we do now would be amazing. Fortunately, my memories are always like a mini movie in my mind. I can still feel the sand, the dampness in the air, the taste of the salt on my lips. I can go back anytime. Not the same but it works.

One of the things I do love about my area is since we are a higher elevation, less light pollution, so I can see far more stars than living in larger cities. I know this part sounds crazy, when Pokemon Go came out one of the best places (and still is) to go was downtown. We don't have a quaint downtown area, but it's nice. We have an artwork on the corner program, which is quite nice. Even though most of the bars in town are downtown, There is still a calm in the area. We would take strolls up and down the street, collecting Pokemon and watch the drunks stumble from bar to bar. Even though there is a calm and a peacefulness to the night, it is just as alive as during the day, you just have to open yourself up to it.

w3m81smvw0.png



Pay It Forward Contests

IMG-20180606-WA0005.jpg
Steemitcentral


Picture_20180513_211411075.jpg
Dustsweeper


Asapers.gif
ASAP'ers



manna banner.jpg
Earn passive Universal Basic Income


banner

CREATE YOUR OWN @REVIEWME PROFILE TO START EARNING CREDIBILITY STARS FROM THE COMMUNITY!
CREATING YOUR PROFILE IS EASY! JUST FOLLOW THE STEPS HERE ☜(ˆ▿ˆc)


Thank you for your continued support, Love

tryskele (1).gif

Sort:  

I like being to look up in the night sky and seeing all the stars. Higher elevation and rural settings are great for that.

Most definitely. When we travel to Denver part of our trip in either direction we try to stop at Summit which is 11k feet there is a rest stop on both east and west bound sides on the western side of the tunnels. One of the most amazing views from there.

It's a shame that most people never look up into the sky.

Is it the stresses of modern life that makes them that way? Or is it the pervasive pessimistic, "scarcity driven" mindset that does it?

“Two men looked out from prison bars,
One saw the mud, the other saw stars.”

― Dale Carnegie

Excellent post.

Namaste, JaiChai

Most likely both. People tend to box themselves in when stressed and the pessimist stares at his shoes. Either one of them just need to take that breath and look up or out and see what is around them.

Awesome quote. Dale Carnegie can be life changing for many people.

Thank you so much @JaiChai glad you liked the post.

It's kinda annoying when I look up at those beautiful stars and the moon but when I try to take a picture, my phone is like "Nope. We're not doing that."

It is. Even my 'decent' camera tells me the same thing. Someday I'll get DSLR, but my little Canon PowerShot is pretty nice

I love the night. I especially agree about the excess light in town. One of the things I am enjoying most since moving here is the sky view.
Never realised that I was missing the starlight from childhood.
I keep trying to catch moon pictures with my phone. The picture never quite does justice to the reality.
Thought I would drop by and see how you are feeling. Hope you are recovering nicely and your mommy will let you play online now 😜

It's wonderful when you get to see the sky again.
LOL mommy is visiting my aunt (her last surviving sibling). So I've been on has energy levels allow.

Good to see you back and stronger. I missed you. Welcome back.

Thank you :) I feel really good getting back to things. I bummed due to silly restraints I couldn't keep up with the quote challenge for a bit. I'll jump back in probably tomorrow. I know I haven't commented much. Really liking your Flash Fictions. They have been enjoyable reading during my downtime :D

Congratulations @tryskele! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

ooh I missed out this post, both of us almost have the same feeling about the night, the moon and the stars. 40 years living in a small town, where I can see the star clusters all the year except in the rainy night.

there's 2 place where we can really enjoy the moon and the stars, at the beach or on the mountain. only at night we can stop the distortion of noises around us and get a potential healing power too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74