Festival of India: Raksha Bandhan

in #festivals7 years ago

Yesterday was an important Hindu festival called Raksha Bandhan.

Literally, it means "bond of protection", but the festival celebrates the spirits of brothers and sisters. It is also called so because sisters tie Rakhi (see picture below) and pray for brothers prosperity and happiness and in return brothers promise to protect their sisters as well as a gift as a token of love.


Courtesy: Google

This is probably one of the festivals, where I can count myself as a lucky person. Don't believe it? As I mentioned it before in my introduction, I have 5 elder sisters. And I also have a younger sister who is not blood-related but feels that way. Oh, I am not counting my cousins because then the list would never end. So see, lucky me!

Nevertheless, I stay in Bangalore where two of my sisters are located. So yesterday, they made sure that I feel special and not miss any of my other sisters. So early morning, we had the ritual of tying Rakhi according to auspicious time.


Elder sister


Younger Sister


Yup 6 Rakhis, one for each of the sisters

Then we had a great time and did what we do best together: Eat and talk

And this was not it. I was pampered the entire day. Here is our dinner

So really, how much do my sisters love me? Well here is a post from her.

This post is my way of telling them that I love you guys too and thank you for being my strength.

And to the community: I will introduce them to Steemit soon and make them more powerful :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63607.06
ETH 3476.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51