Jun vs. Kombucha, and hard apple cider with kefir grains!

in #fermentation6 years ago

If you've researched much about alternative health, you've probably come across alot of info about healthy gut flora. Our bodies are, or should be crawling with trillions of healthy bacteria, micro-organisms fighting off invasive dangerous organisms. You need bacteria to digest, absorb, and utilize nutrients from food properly. In this podcast by the WAPF, Dr. Bush explains some key information about bacteria and how they've been healing people at their clinic
https://www.westonaprice.org/podcast/113-it-takes-guts/
He claims that glyphosate (roundup) has never been patented as an herbicide. It is a potent antibiotic that simply kills all microorganisms. It is in our air, in our water, and in our food. Our bodies are under constant attack by this vile chemical, as well as countless other environmental toxins.
There are plenty of pricey probiotics to buy, but being a thrifty sort, I decided to start sourcing out pro-biotic rich foods. I make milk kefir, sourdough breads, aged hard and soft cheeses, fermented veggies of all kinds, kombucha, and most recently Jun..

Last week I was gifted a Jun scoby. Jun is basically a kombucha scoby that has been conditioned to thrive in green tea and honey. I loved the idea of using honey right away, we have a local bee farmer that produces TONS of honey and we get as much, local, unpasteurized, pure honey as we want!
image.jpeg

The recipe I use for 1 gallon, is 8 green tea bags, 1 cup honey, 1 cup jun starter liquid, and 1 Jun Scoby (symbiotic culture of bacteria and yeast) in the picture above I scaled the recipe down to about half.
Jun only takes 3-7 days to brew, depending on flavour preference. It is sweeter and has a higher alcohol content than kombucha (2%, kombucha is about .5%) this would be due to the fact that honey, whenever added to water will quickly start fermenting into mead, an alcoholic honey wine.
When I started making kombucha about a year ago, I bought flip top bottles from a local brewery supply store. I paid $40 for 12 bottles. There were some $20/dozen jars, but the more expensive ones are thicker and won't explode from too much carbonation(until you open them and there will be kombucha everywhere if you're not careful)
My favourite flavouring is ginger, lime, and a bit of honey in each jar for a second fermentation, but so far I really like the taste of jun on its own!
Alongside my jun in the picture is a jar of organic apple juice I bought and transferred to a quart jar, for the purpose of making hard Apple cider. I threw in some washed milk kefir grains and tighten the lid for 12-24 hours. I check it daily, loosen the lid to burp carbonation build up, and taste. Water kefir grains would work as well, but I only have so much room in my lab (kitchen) for these experiments of mine. After about 3 days my hard Apple cider is bubbly and alcoholic enough for me, but you can let it go for as long as 5 or 7 if you want a real buzz! You can ferment almost any sugary fruit juice with these grains, I always have extra growing so I experiment and play with different things occasionally :)
Happy fermenting!

Sort:  

I am looking forward to the day when we can start fermenting. Our life is pretty tied up right now and with kitchen space at a premium in the tiny house, there is no extra counterspace for experimentation. I have never heard of Jun before but it sounds like something I would like to try (I am a big fan of mead). Hard cider is also high on our list of things to do. Thanks for sharing! -Aimee

Thanks for reading! Yes I almost need a separate (warm) room for ferments, it drives my husband nuts that I always have things on the counter, and various places around the house, but it's a clean mess lol! I have no one to impress, and everyone benefits from the deliciousness/healing properties! My ultimate goal is an earth ship like @carey-page and @wwf. I'll have a ferment room for sure when that project is underway.

it's a clean mess lol! I have no one to impress

Yes! I share your sentiments. I will definitely need to check out the earthships and Steemians you mentioned. We follow @wwf but I don't think I have stumbled across @carey-page yet. Thanks mentioning them. -A

I never thought of making my own hard apple cider. Hmmm this is an interesting thought. I have made my own apple cider vinegar from apples before but it is a lot of work and often I forget about it. This year I totally forgot about my apple cider vinegar and well, it went bad. This sounds easier and very doable. Thanks for the tip. I am going to try it!

Thanks for the votes!

Can you not use standard scoby with honey? I've not properly looked into making kombucha yet, but we don't use sugar, just honey.

I've done it a couple times but got scared and went back to cane sugar for my bucha :) I don't see why it would be a problem, if it smells and tastes good then it's probably fine!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67083.87
ETH 3502.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13