You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Faces of Feminism

in #feminism8 years ago

I hardly think that you can have these women represent feminism. I consider myself a feminist and I value the roles of everyone, race, gender, religion in society. There are areas where women are exploited in society, especially financially and by the media.

I am a mother of one girl and two boys. I have told my daughter to always be independent. Financially and emotionally. That way if she is in a relationship, it will be because of mutual love and respect. I have told my boys to look for independent women. They too must be part of an equal relationship and not be subject to society's expectation of being the breadwinner.

I am married, I don't hate men, but I do recognise that society has work to do. I find it strange to find this pocket of rather virulently anti-feminist men on Steemit, which I regard as a slightly more educated social platform than most.

Sort:  

I don't think for a moment that you're some man-hating bigot. And I'm sure you do call yourself a feminist.

But that's largely due to how feminism has been marketed to people. Yes, positive things can be painted with the feminist brush to make it look like that's what the movement is about, but at its core there lies a very sinister, dark ideology - one that gets supported when people identify themselves as feminists.

Feminism has been marketed extremely well in the sense that people equate feminism with simply wanting equal rights, and who doesn't want equal rights. Everybody does. So, following that logic, everybody is a feminist.

Then it gets easier to sneak in the more outrageous stuff because people have already accepted the narrative.

You may have indirectly answered your own question, @onetree. Men who have educated themselves have realized what is at the core of feminism. I've followed the feminist line myself for many years. It took me a long time to realize that what started as good intention has turned into something ugly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53615.59
ETH 2344.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13