You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Don't Want Ally Cookies

in #feminism6 years ago

I was literally thinking this the other day. I was thinking that FOR YOU its like oh wow he's really woke-- but for me its OH THERE SHE GOES AGAIN.

AND I think part of it is that you are a great writer and are able to be clear while still making an emotional connection.

I think though, that you putting this here, on Sundays helps me and other women in this weird semi-cool semi-woman hating but def anti-feminist landscape. It helps us in the way that I can trust that I won't be ONLY bombarded by hate and that there are men out there--- trying... learning.. reading.. supporting..

FOr me the bar is maybe low BUT EVEN AT THAT I GET SHIT FOR HAVING THAT BAR.

I only want to uplift men who are doing the same for me and other women on this platform. And thats not an easy task. Sometimes you have to fight and beg and cry.

NO ONE WANTS TO DO THAT.

No woman wants to do it because then they lose credibility on a platform where that credibility is easily tarnished and so follows the steem. Unless they are like Techslut and very good at fighting without showing any sign of desperation or fatigue. lol. But even she has her limits, I think.

But also no woman wants to do that because we all just wish it would go away and that we could pretend that everyone was fair and respectful and that we didn't have to worry about these things. We all have so much going on and we need support. Until the day comes that someone can give the feminist space some $$$ people won't be challenging the patriarchy tooo much. Frankly i get tired of it. But for me its everyday feminism . I wish it was only sundays. BUt nah, i get triggered constantly by microaggressions and other BS.

sigh

THe bar may be low but you are miles above the bar and a big breath of fresh fucking air.

eats my own cookies

Sort:  

Thank you so much for this. As a writer, and I've been writing for a long time, including stints at most of Israel's major media outlets, I strive for excellence. So, knowing how low the bar is set for men in feminism, some of the responses I've gotten have been difficult to parse. Is it because I'm good? Or is it because I'm a man, in an environment that isn't always hospitable to women, writing about feminism?

So the specific compliment about me writing is super appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67443.33
ETH 3253.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66