You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are We Asking For It?

in #feminism8 years ago

Its so true! Statistically there hasn't been any evidence that supports that a woman wearing more revealing clothing is any more likely to raped.

So this makes it clear that rapists pick their targets for other reasons, Such as opportunity.

Like what does society expect us to do? Women who are too "pretty" naturally also have issues and are often harassed. Are we supposed to wear a full blown costume and bags over our heads?

I often get criticized for "flaunting" the fact that I'm a woman because I have similar interests to men, Such as gaming, physical labor and illustration.

Which is absolutely ridiculous!

I hope society changes their stances on this. Women deserve to feel comfortable in their own skin. and how do you tell a little girl something like that? When she wants to wear a cute dress that is really short? That men are "out of control" and you have no right to wear that dress!?

But a man shirtless, Will probably walk on by, and no one judges him for it.
Or the woman who have had cancer, And no longer have breasts. Their chest looks IDENTICAL to a mans chest, But they can't walk around shirtless? And they have to wear bikini tops, Which it literally does nothing for them.
I understand why busty women would rather wear a top, But it all should be OPTIONAL!

We are animals like every other animal on this planet. They arent forced to wear clothes! Why are we forced? You don't see people trying to put a T shirt on a grizzly bear in the wild because of "indecent exposure".
Im not a nudist or anything, But people should be free to wear what they want. Even if nothing is their choice.
But personally I'd probably still wear clothes when I go outside, Because I want to protect myself from the sun.

Sort:  

There is evidence that rape is actually higher in countries where female sexuality is repressed and controlled, for instance by making them wear burkas. (And on a side note, studies show that female body image issues are even more pronounced (rather than less) in these countries.)

Careful feeding the trolls. 😜

Maybe letting men "see" a bit or even a lot is a good thing then. I mean if they want to think and not touch, Thats doesn't hurt anyone.

Thank you for saying this! I was starting to think I was crazy from so frequently getting comments like this.

I saw this video last year and it surprised me how different the attention was toward this woman based on how she dressed while walking around NYC. It also made me not want to visit NYC.

ok, is this working for you in the long term, like in tomorrow?

you are crazy, make no mistake

here is evidence that rape is actually higher in countries where female sexuality is repressed and controlled, for instance by making them wear burkas. (And on a side note, stjdoes show that female body image issues are even more pronounced (rather than less) in these countries.)

Careful feeding the trolls. 😜

I agree. This was in NYC, though, so I still think it's valid.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57307.38
ETH 2434.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32