You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Myth of the "Biological Clock"

in #feminism6 years ago

I have women in my circle of friends who either consciously or unconsciously carry or have carried the desire for a child. Whether this can be explained by their biology or their socialization, I don't know.... I therefore find what women do not say or do not justify interesting and worthy of discussion. ... When you meet women who tell you that "maybe you'll feel differently one day" describes this one probability, one guess or a vague idea of something important. Have you ever felt that?

Perhaps because they experience you as provoked or feel that something is moving you, with which they resonate. As far as you don't see it as invading your privacy but as an identity of women: Does that change your indignation that it's nobody's business?

For me, it was more the reverse comments, because really none could imagine that I would one day become a mother. I was probably the least of them all.

Has anyone ever asked you from the bottom of her heart if you could imagine being a mother and how deeply and for how long have you given in to this question? Once you ignore everything that seems outrageous to you, does that change anything? I have found that the women who chose not to have children (either consciously or never really thought about it) were sad or had a feeling of loss to deal with in hindsight.
Which I don't mind at all. Just a matter of womanhood. In my society, such fundamental questions are usually overlooked very quickly and they are not treated spiritually enough... but that's just my position...
The way I see it: we are women. And why should we not go very deep into ourselves and ask ourselves - and others - about this question? Simply because we're the ones who have kids.

I do not know many women who revealed themselves saying, "I have decided against having children because I have found something in life that expresses the same creative power as the birth of a baby.

In a birth - if it goes well - several things happen simultaneously: the creative combines with the physical. The desire of women to experience this (inexplicable) is human, I think. Even though some of the speeches were clumsy. Which I attribute to the fact that we hardly have any language for it in this economized world and therefore do not deal with it very eloquently. So I come back to your suggestion to describe this concept of the biological clock as unfortunate and rather to replace it with something more positive and less defensive. Perhaps that the act of childbirth and the lifelong task as parents can be the final exit from one's own childhood and contributes a lot to seeing one's own parents with different eyes. It's a generation present. One might ask: How do you think about the generational gift and consider it for yourself? If so, why? If not, why not?

Good, your hint that non-parents can also take on parental and adult duties. My brother, who is the only one in the family who has no children, has taken an enormous number of children from his environment under his wing and takes very good care of his nieces and nephews. As siblings we are even quite happy about it, because he has completely different capacities than that of parents.

I think your being hit by criticism - if you let out the insulting thing about it - is often an indication (albeit a painful one) that something still needs to be processed. ...

In retrospective, I WISH that someone would have asked this serious question and that my decision WOULD have been made by me after a serious contemplative time. So taking the decision as being made in a way which lifts the unconscious to the conscious in a needed way. As this actually does not take place from where I am, the clumsy and unfortunate questions must serve the purpose ...

Sort:  

Well, I haven't decided on anything either way, nor have I ever claimed to. Personally, it's not that I feel under siege. It's a question that isn't particularly important to me. I have never felt any compulsion to have children, but I'm not disgusted by it either. It's an emotion that doesn't feel natural to me. My mother was the same way. She openly admits to me that I was an accident after she had made the conscious choice not to have children, but it was very late in life for her and really her last chance, so she made the last minute decision to go through with her pregnancy. She will readily say that it was a huge life change and one that came with many sacrifices, but that she's thankful that I am in her life and she loves me very much. I don't take offense to that stance, particularly at this age; I completely understand. I don't expect of my mother that I would have been this emotionally profound miracle that filled her with joy when she found out that she suddenly had to make a choice to have a baby or not. This post is a more general criticism of a phenomenon I've observed not only in my own interactions with people but also with others. It can be very hurtful because not all women are capable of having children and it can be emotionally harmful to imply that there is something wrong with not having them when you don't know a person's circumstances or innermost feelings. I write a fair amount about feminism and how I see our interactions as women, and I see this as a feminist issue--the assumption that women must have children or else they are somehow incomplete.

I have contemplated the thought many times and wondered why I don't feel compelled by either stance, but I also know that thought has been amplified by people telling me that I need to make a choice, when I still have at least a decade to do so. The point for me is that having a baby or not, whether by adoption or by physically giving birth, will not make me more or less of a woman, but it would change my life profoundly. Maybe I will feel more resolute in my opinions about whether or not it's something for me later on, but it's also rude of others to tell me that I absolutely will go through that when they simply don't know my circumstances and I never asked them for their advice about my womb. And of course this is partially influenced by my own mother's stance on womanhood and the feminist ideals that she raised me with, and that I've never had the pressure from my family that many women experienced. It's always been made clear to me from the very beginning that it's my decision. I just wish that other women didn't have a society around them that was trying to make the decision for them or else make them feel bad about it.

Anyway, thank you so much for your thoughtful comment :)

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59295.75
ETH 2607.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41