An electronic lifeline

in #feelings5 years ago

So it finally happened. After a scare last month wherein I thought my video card died on me and it's hefty price tag to replace it meant it would be a last priority item to sort out but after much tinkering I was able to bring it back to life.

Having no money to replace it does wonders to make anyone a technician. I poured through forums, watched videos on what could be the issue and how to troubleshoot it and by a small miracle it willed itself back to working status.

Yet all good things must come to an end. Today it finally happened. My computer has breathed it's last.

It was a typical day. I woke up. Turned on the PC, logged in and was about to read some emails and articles when I went to the kitchen to brew some coffee.

I went back to my desk and in sharp contrast to the smell of caffeine I noticed the acrid smell of an electrical fire. I hurried to the source and it was my PC.

Shutting everything down without saving or logging out I was thinking what parts can I salvage.

After a tense few seconds I started opening the case and dismantling the parts and smelling each one.

The telltale smell came from the power supply unit. It was hot and smelled burnt.

20190612_051945.jpg

I thanked God that I was awake when this happened and that it didn't start a fire. AVR is also not working most likely killed by a surge when the power supply unit called it quits. Thank God I have an AVR as well or it might have short circuited the whole house.

I remove the unit and install one of the spare ones I have. It's a bit old but I had it stashed away neatly still in its original box.

I cleaned each part. Dust off the little that the PC collected since the last time I cleaned it.

Place back everything and checked all the wirings and cables are secured. I left the cable and power off the hard drive just to check if all parts are working especially the video card.

Then it was the moment of truth. I plugged it back to another spare AVR I have and nothing.

It didn't even turn on. Not a single fan, light or monitor. Turned off the AVR and checked the sockets. Rechecked everything.

Plug it back and just to make sure checked the outlet and it is working.

Crossed my fingers and turned on the PC again. Nothing. Not a sound or light came.

I did not know what else to do but to dismantle and put everything back together and third time's the charm.

Silence greeted me. I bowed my head, stood up and unplugged the AVR.

Shut the lights out and went back to bed. Thinking what am I to do know.

It may seem like a small thing but for the past 6 months my PC was my lifeline to the outside world.

I retreated from the world and aside from the two instances of me going out to watch Avengers:Endgame and when I have voted, I have never gotten out.

I was living the life of a recluse, a shut in and now I lost it...

I am afraid to go out...

Sort:  

Hey, maverickinvictus.

I'm sorry to hear about your computer. You must have found a way to post this, though. Thumbs on a phone maybe?

Regardless, I am glad to see another post from you, and that you've had a lifeline, even if it wasn't always to STEEM. Now, the question becomes: what's going to be more pressing?

Remaining mostly a recluse, or doing what needs to be done to take care of your computer?

I suppose there are other ways of resolving this matter, but you going out to take care of it seemed to be the set up from your post.

However it happens, I hope you do what's best for you, whatever that is.

Hey Glen thanks for stopping by. I was so lost at what to do that I needed to write it out to get it off my chest.

I was stunned when it happened and at some point could not move.

Thumb writing on my phone is not so easy but you got to do what you got to do.

I don't know about going out though and I'm still assessing the damage

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63548.34
ETH 2646.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74