Featuring-Antipolo: The Classic Delicacy

in #feature-antipolo6 years ago (edited)

PhotoGrid_1520932122390.jpg

Yesterday, I went in Pasalubong Center here in Antipolo. I was thinking of what to show for the contest of steemph.antipolo "Featuring-Antipolo Foods and Delicacies". I decided to asked the seller of Ka Baby or Aling Viring. They suggested the "Suman sa Ibos". This is the store where I usually bought the Antipolo delicacy and sell it in our office. I asked them where I could take a photo and video on how to do the Suman sa Ibos. They allowed me to captured the moment.

Yehey! Let's begin.

IMG_20180313_162907.jpg

This is where most of the Suman sa Ibos in Pasalubong Center was prepared. They sell the Suman sa Ibos P100.00 ($1.92) for one dozen only. For one leash it cost P25.00 ($0.48). If you are whole seller they only offer the Suman sa Ibos P60.00 ($1.15) per dozen.

PhotoGrid_1520932178752.jpg

Based on my research this Suman sa Ibos was adopted in Cainta, Rizal. They bring it in Antipolo, City. Suman is originated in the Philippines. As per the cook they have other people whose rounding the Kampil leaves. They are just putting the glutinous rice inside the Kampil leaves. Because rounding the Kampil leaves is time consuming as per them. Here what it looks after putting the Suman sa Ibos in Kampil leaves.

This how they put the locked in Suman sa Ibos. They are so fast because on that day they need to finish six large stock pot. They cooked the Suman sa Ibos every other day.

PhotoGrid_1520931972576.jpg

There's already three large stock pot put on the stove. They have to put three to four layers Suman sa Ibos inside the stock pot.

IMG_20180313_163821.jpg

They used a large set of wooden mortar and pestle for the ginger. So cute! hahahaha! Go brother you can do it. Hahahaha!

I learned that in order to turn Kampil leaves in yellow they need to put the ginger while boiling the Suman sa Ibos.

PhotoGrid_1520931592019.jpg

Ingredients:

Glutinous rice
Coconut milk
Salt
Water
Ginger
Kampil leaves

PhotoGrid_1520931837690.jpg

Instructions:

  1. Prepare and wash the glutinous rice. Make sure to drain the excess water.
  2. Add the coconut milk and salt. Mix it well.
  3. Let it dry with coconut milk and salt.
  4. When the glutinous rice was dried you can now put inside the Kampil leaves.
  5. Put the lock on it. After that place it, inside the large stock pot and cook on the stove.
  6. If it's boiling, you need to put the ginger and wait until cooked.
  7. Remove the water and let the Suman sa Ibos cool down.

MAKEUP_20180313171925_save.jpg

So this is how they cooked and prepared the Suman sa Ibos. I learned a lot with this experience and amaze with the large set of wooden mortar and pestle. I will treasure the experience I gained. Thank you to the Ka Baby crew for letting me to took a photo and video. I hope you learn too. See you on my next blog.


U5drDBkvPRgGPikSivxyPW9BroH5F2U_1680x8400.png


U5drDBkvPRgGPikSivxyPW9BroH5F2U_1680x8400.png

myAvatar.png

Thank you for reading this post and viewing my photos.  I hope you enjoyed them.  Please let me know what you think in the comments.

Please follow me @acinad  


All photographs are my own work.  I used my OPPO A71 phone to take a photo.

Sort:  

Nice post my friend, have a nice day to you @acinad ♥ ♪_♪ ♥

such an effort. A very good entry. Thank you for joining again @acinad

Your always welcome to me.

EFFORT @acinad 👍it reminds me of my lola who's also making suman sa ibos. It's one of my favorite kakanin. Nice entry!

hahahaha! You can also do this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58635.35
ETH 3152.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44