You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A hawk in the gardens

in #featherfriday5 years ago

What a wonderful city sighting, yes I have heard small hawks arriving in the city of NY there was an article a couple of years ago about how they were learning to live on high ledges of buildings, swoop over the parks and take a few pigeons or rats for food. At the time I still thought, well done another gold star for nature taking back a bit of her own!

Sort:  

Yes indeed it was a cool sighting, and now that you mention it I do remember seeing some in Central park once, and discovered they had a nest on one of the buildings and were doing just as you say and I thought how cool is that I only ever saw them in the distance never close enough for good shots

That may have been a once in a lifetime photography session, now you know they are around you will be looking up and down, birds tend to do that to us.

Yes I do believe it was just that a once in a lifetime thing to see and I count myself blessed to have seen it I have been looking around since I saw it and have not seen any sign of them at all

Walking early mornings before the crowds arrive you may get lucky enough to see them hunting for breakfast, yes rare moments in sightings like this are cherished.

Early morning is when I do most of my walks, I love when it is quiet,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72