Feathered Friday Whats good for the goose

Feathered Friday Whats good for the goose

Feathered Friday is a challenge/Tag started by @keithboone and here is what he says about it

If you love photographing birds as much as I do, I'll just bet you have some photos to share. To participate in #FeatheredFriday and receive an upvote & resteem, please follow these simple steps:

Make your own post and use the tag #featheredfriday
Leave me a link to your post in the comments - this will make it easier for me to find and you will get extra exposure from the other participants.
Consider using the #birding tag which will also get some more eyes on your post.
That's it people, lets see what you've got!

For this weeks entry I have gone

1 Feathered friends goose pond.jpg

Sony Pentax K-5 220mm F8 1/90 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



I had forgotten about this challenge again this week till I saw a few people do post for it this morning so I dug through my archives and found a few shots of Geese, including these first two back when I was using a Pentax Camera in 2013

Now you many Wonder what's up with the title, it comes from a saying

What's good for the goose is good for the Gander

and sometimes good is replaced with sauce, ie what is sauce for the goose is sauce for the gander

Now this saying came to mind when I found these shots, and I understood it to mean that's what good for a man is equally good for a woman, but I have got many things wrong with how I interpret things over the years so I decided to check it out

Surprise surprise I got it right

Apparently, from a google search, I found that is what it means and was described in 1678, in John Ray's English Proverbs.

1 Feathered friends goose pond-2.jpg

Sony Pentax K5 65mm F8 1/90 Sec ISO 200
Click here to view larger



Here is another shot taken at around the same time

1 Feathered friends swan.jpg

Sony A6500 73mm F8 1/400 Sec ISO 125
Click here to view larger



And another goose, or the same goose a couple of years later taken in 2015, I remember getting this shot, as the goose looked os beautiful but when it tried to walk out of the water onto the beach it was limping horribly and looked badly injured, one of the people near me quickly called animal control, or something like that, I was away taking some shots of an Outrigger race further down the beach but apparently some animal rescue group came and picked it up and took it away to treat it, I hope it recovered well.


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.


tatooddj.png

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 41.210041 lat -73.052962 long Gulf Beach Milford CT

Sort:  

Well. I love birdie photographs, maybe mostly because I am so poor at them. I don't know how many times I've set up my Nikon and tripod and waited for the Cactus Wrens and Mockingbirds that make my palm tree home. They don't come to the light at all when I'm set up. I can be working on Connie and throwing wrenches and curses and they come to see what's happening, but let me set up and be quiet???

Thanks for these, they are marvelous.

It takes a lot of patience to get bird shots and I dont have the patience to stay still for as long as is needed, and I have similar experiences as you only when I am not ready for shots do birds come anywhere near me

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

I like the hue you gave the photos. They seem peaceful and calming to me.

Thanks that is such a kind comment and truly appreciated

Oh man, those are stunning shots! Very artistic processing as well. I really love the first shot with that reflection. Thank you for posting in Feathered Friday! Voted and resteemed :-)

Thanks Mate, this challenge will motivate me to try more bird shots when it warms up here

Congratulations @tattoodjay! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 34000 replies. Your next target is to reach 34500 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi, @tattoodjay!

You just got a 6.45% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

This is amazing shot!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks Kindly my friend, Have a good weekend

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 422 (03/08/19)

Great shots @tattoodjay.
I enjoy watching the ducks and geese swimming in the water.
They look so beautiful and so peaceful.

Thanks and I do enjoy seeing them as well

Gorgeous shots @tattoodjay, very true proverb!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes it is a true proverb, I have always followed it but not all men do

Have a super Sunday

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63183.53
ETH 2643.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78