Feathered Friday - Oriole NestingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #featheredfriday5 years ago (edited)

Here's an Oriole starting her nest building process. Fortunately she built it on a low hanging branch so i could see it easier.

She was hanging upside down while weaving together bits of thin grass.

Looks like quite a mess to deal with. It's a wonder how the manage to get the nest to work.

This shot was taken earlier when she first started the nest.

Happy #featheredfriday @keithboone

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

That is so cool! I seldom ever see where the nests are. Great photos and thanks for posting to #featheredfriday!

This one was on a branch hanging down about 10ft above a bike path. Pretty conspicuous place for a nest with bikes zooming by all the time. Maybe it scares away potential predators.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think my neighborhood orioles must be high up in the old oak trees. I never even see the nests in the winter.
That is an odd place for her to build a nest!

Yeah most orioles like being high up in the trees. Maybe this is an inexperienced young one.

Posted using Partiko Android

I had a young Cardinal pair decide to build a nest in an Arbor Vitae right next to my deck. The branch was much too flimsy and as the nest got heavier it leaned down closer and closer to my deck railing. To their credit they decided it wasn't working out and moved on.

Convenient entertainment, just so they don't fight with their reflections.

Posted using Partiko Android

This year it was a catbird doing that and driving me crazy! In the past it is usually an oriole!

A good poser too, she was too focused on building to care about the camera.

Posted using Partiko Android

Bird is just lovely!
I enjoyed viewing photos!

Nice shots! What kind of lens do you use for these?

Posted using Partiko iOS

I use an olympus e510 with a zukio zoom lens. It only works with bright sunny days otherwise it is too grainy.

Posted using Partiko Android

Such amazing little bird! She’s a real beauty! Love to see her finished nest, she’s a genius!

I'll have to see when i can get back there to see it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 100.00% upvote from us for your 19984 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Thank you sketch.and.jam! You've just received an upvote of 38% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Burds are so skilled when crafting nests, I really like the complexity of some of them.

The second shot is epic 😍 It's like the little friend turned his head and said, what's up?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64359.49
ETH 2619.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83