Feathered Friday: Mr. Robin Red Breast

in #featheredfriday5 years ago (edited)

This is a true story of a Robin who did not follow the norm and go south but stayed around all winter.


image
Camera:Canon EOS Rebel T6
F/5 1/320 230mm ISO 100

I’ve mentioned the story of Mr. Robin Red Breast before and will touch on it again to show how birds have a sense of loyalty and can experience loneliness.

One year Mr. Robin Red Breast didn’t go South by the time the snow and cold weather set in, I noticed him because it was unusual to see a robin in the cold winter weather of P.E.I.

His pretty red breast stood out against the white of the snow. The other birds staying around my backyard for the winter were the Blue Jays, Crows, Ravens, Chickadees and Juncos. Those birds stayed year around but not Robins.

I wondered,

Why was Mr. Robin Red Breast still here? Why didn’t he go Down South to the warmer climate before this cold weather?

Here is Mr. Robin Redbreast waiting by the snow that winter. He is puffed up to keep warm.


image


Then POOF! a lightbulb went off in my head and I remembered earlier that summer, I had found a dead robin in the hedge. It was a mystery why she died - there wasn’t a mark on her tiny body.

I gently wrapped her lifeless body in some newspaper and placed it in the garbage bin.

I knew my cats hadn’t killed her as they are inside cats. On occasion there had been a stray cat coming around. If the robin was killed by a cat there wasn’t any sign on her tiny body.

Perhaps she had been electrocuted by the overhead hydro lines or ran into a window.

Whatever happened, Mrs. Robin was dead and poor Mr. Robin Red Breast was left no knowing what happened to his life-mate.

When Mr. Robin Red Breast didn’t leave, I knew then the dead robin was his mate . He did not know her tiny spirit had gone over the rainbow bridge that leads, when birds or animals pass, to an everlasting paradise.

Robins usually mate for life and Mr. Robin Red Breast was faithfully waiting for his mate to come back to him. He was willing to endure cold starving conditions to wait for her.

All winter long, it was heartbreaking watching him, covered with snow, patiently waiting in the trees, near the house.

Robins patrol lawns looking for worms, insects and grubs. Since it was winter, the ground was frozen and Mr. Robin Red Breast couldn’t peck into the soil for his food.

I didn’t know what to do to help him find food, short of finding worms - that wasn’t an option! I cut up apples and threw out homemade blueberry and raisin muffins. The Blue Jays liked this and I thought maybe the robin would eat some.

An obvious question, “What’s wrong with giving them bird seed?”

Bird seed had been given a bad rap that year as some birds were choking on it. I didn’t want to buy seeds until I was sure the matter was resolved.

Mr. Robin Red Breast ate the apples and food and survived that cold winter. He went South the next winter and has since returned each spring.

For the last seven years, Mr. Robin Red Breast has come back solo from the South to visit. He stays to himself and will often squabble with the Blue Jays over the food.

Here he is, in summer, patrolling the lawn for worms. He still likes the food I put out and comes by the back steps to let me know when he returns.


image


I don’t know how long a Robin can live but Mr. Robin Red Breast has been around for seven years.

I hope to see him many more years.



Posted for #featheredfriday hosted by @keithboone.

Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada





#thealliance





46B316FA-31F9-40BB-87B7-F85999B33372.png


6EE249CE-12B6-4AD7-944D-06B6CDD099C5.jpeg


image

Sort:  

Great photos, is this the first robin of spring? You beat me to Feathered Friday - must be a time zone thing! Voted & resteemed! ;-)

Thanks Keith. I was looking for your post. It was after midnight When posted my feathered Friday. B.C. Is about 3 hrs behind the time zone on P.E.I.

I wasn't complaining, I was happy to see your post! I was just teasing you, I know about the time difference ;-)

Haha. I knew you would know. Just letting you know I knew.😊

I'd guess that one winter in PEI should be enough to convince any sane creature to head south for the next winter. :)

That is a simply incredible story. I remember one year in Spokane we had a really unseasonable warm streak for a couple of weeks of mid February. The Robins came back and we just assumed that spring had sprung early. Silly us. Canada sent us a last blast winter storm that was just epic. I got up one particular morning to -5C and 6 inches of fresh snow. There were maybe 10 robins clustered on the top of my then wife's SUV. I told her and went to blow the walks. She had fed them and cleared a gravel patch in the back by the time I went to work. The next day there were at least 50 Robins in the back yard when I went out and the day after that maybe 500. It was incredible.

Thanks for sharing your Mr. Robin Redbreast story. It truly touched my heart this morning.

Thanks @bigtom13. Someone said to me one time about my hubs being good-natured. I couldn’t resist and said, “You haven’t spent a winter with him on PEI.” It is kind of a joke between us. 😊
I love your story of the Robins. It would be wondrous to see that many gathered together.

What sweet shots and a touching story I guess one winter was more than enough for it there

Haha, Jay. One winter is enough for animal or human. Robin stayed late this fall and I wondered if he was going to stay but glad he’s gone somewhere warmer.

I find it bad here let alone there Stay safe and warm and hopefully the robin is nice and warm

Thanks Jay. You too. I worry about that Robin and hope he’s okay.
I have my woollies on when I go out and it makes a difference when it’s cold.😊

Lets hope he is Ok and you get to see him again when it warms up, I to layer up at this time of year and thats just with our weather which is nothing like yours

This is such a lovely story @redheadpei.....and of course, really sad too. But it is so interesting to hear of the loyalty that Mr. Robin Red Breast had for Mrs,Robin Red Breast. I think we sometimes underestimate the intelligence of birds and other animals, for that matter.

Robin is very fortunate that you are a caring soul and had the insight to work out why he kept returning. He must look forward to the nutritious meals you leave him Jo.
(U & R )

Thanks Trudee. I know you have wonderful compassion for animals and birds too. Robin is getting old and I even worry about him making the trip back from the south each spring. 🦅

I do Jo. That's true and I can certainly understand your concerns, but without the extra care you have given this lovely robin, he may not have lasted as long as he has. This is a very special and unique encounter you have enjoyed and those memories will stay with you forever.

What a sweet story! Great photos, too! That would be a very old Robin!

Thanks Melinda. I was checking how long a robin lives and there were various results. If they live past the first year they have a good chance of survival. Their average lifespan is 2 years.
The longest known lifespan in the wild of an American robin is 14 years.
I hope Mr. Robin Red Breast lives a long time.

I hope so, too! When you think of all the dangers they face it is pretty incredible that they can live so long!

wow redheadpei I've never heard of such a thing, that's a great story! And you are very observant to see and understand what was going on.

Thanks Cowboy. You’re a wonderful friend. I’m happy you liked the story of the poor dear robin....guess I’m the bird whisperer. 😊

haha! yes you are! A bird whisperer, I don't think I've ever heard of such a thing although I did see an old movie starring Burt Lancaster and he pretty much understood them. It was called The Birdman of Alcatraz, did you ever see that? Those robins are very interesting and it's amazing that your male bird never got another mate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60859.14
ETH 2917.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61