Hummers: Birds I Love To See Return

in #featheredfriday5 years ago (edited)

The lovely lady #melinda010100 hosts #featheredfriday. Check her post Here for info.

I love seeing every feathered friend but the little hummingbirds are a special joy to see in the spring when they return from the South.


image


And these hummers are no bird brains. For E.g, If I don’t have the feeders out when they return, one of them will hover by the window so I will know they are back.


image


The same thing will happen if the feeders are empty. They know who fills them up and will flutter in front of me.


image


The clothesline is a great resting spot. Hummers cannot walk on their feet. Their little claws can only wrap around a slender branch or something similar.


image


As in most bird species, this male is more colorful than the female. He has the ruby throat.


image


Here he is checking out the hosta blooms.


image


The hummers like to sit high up on the trees.


image



Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel T6

Photos & Text by @redheadpei.

All Rights Reserved



#thealliance




PHC-Footer-05.gif


image

#nature #birdsofsteemit #thealliance #creativecoin #neoxian #blog

Sort:  

They are such a delightful to look at! Thanks for sharing these wonderful pictures.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi Redheadpei, I love birds and your hummers are particularly cute and smart. We have Willywag Tails outside nesting in the Magnolia tree I think. They are making a lot of noise and spending way too much time in this big shrub. We shall see.

Hi Angie. I do love the calls of birds, even the raven who is crowing outside today makes my heart glad.
You have so many beautiful different birds in Oz. Maybe there will be some baby Willywag Tails flying around soon. 😊

You got some lovely shots of the Hummers Jo!! They are smart and seem to have you trained well..lol! They really are a joy to see in the yard..love the pics! 💖

Great captures, @redheadpei! I love those adorable little creatures, and you're right - they are wicked smart, and have no qualms letting you know they need food!

And nothing to do with your awesomesauce post above, but you're also in spot #42 for this week's The Curation and Engagement Leagues ?? post. I'm sponsoring it with a 0.500 Steem @tipu tip, so here goes -

!tip 0.5 steem

Thanks so much @traciyork! Appreciate your tip from the sponsoring. 💕

Lovely shots of those little guys! The hornets have found my feeder and are chasing the hummers away. I think I will have to take it down for a week or so and see if the bees will go away. Do you have bee problems?

One year I had hornets around the feeder but this year I find ants and earwigs are crawling around it and getting inside. The hummers don’t like it. I noticed the hummers just coming to the feeder and not drinking- I cleaned and refilled it and got rid of 4 earwigs living inside. They must crawl in through the feeding cups.

I have ant traps that do a great job of keeping the ants out if I remember to keep them filled with water. I always know when there's a bug in the nectar, when I see them looking at the feeder with a disgusted look on their faces!

I’ll have to find some of those ant traps that uses water. There’s every kind of ant here that you can imagine, except fire ants.

Mine is a simple cup full of water that the ants can't cross. It is quite effective.

Thanks Melinda. I will have to try it.

I've tried twice to send you a photo of mine, but @esteemapp is not letting me send photos in comments from my phone.

Thanks for trying Melinda. 😊

Good Morning @redheadpei, great post. We have humming birds by us also, love those little guys. I didn't know they can't walk, interesting.

Beautiful photos. Enjoy your day!

Cute lil guys. Have they started fighting over the feeder yet?

Posted using Partiko Android

Another very interesting post redheadpei! That's so interesting that they can't walk on their feet! wow. And it's also cool that they are so smart. That's a great looking feeder you have too.

Mornin’ Cowboy and thanks. A little hummer is resting on the clothesline now as I’m typing. They are amazing little birds and I’m always happy they return every spring.

And they force you to feed them! lol. It's a nice trade.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64359.49
ETH 2619.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83