Great Blue Herons

Feathered Friday is hosted by @melinda010100. My #featheredfriday bird is the majestic Great Blue Heron.


image


A while ago I took a road trip into Charlottetown and stopped at a marsh were I often see the Blue Herons.


84703AC5-1DBE-4E8C-9421-432355BF0EE5.jpeg


At the marsh on the outskirts of the city; Great Blue Herons wading in the water.


509C03F0-9E31-43D8-A879-10AF2E4A1551.jpeg


A Blue Heron in a shallow spot on Murray River.


image


Heron with a fish in his beak.


image


image


The Great Blue Heron is a wading bird and can be found near the shores in wetlands. I see them here in PEI in the summer when they return from their winter in the South.


Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada

Photos were taken by me at different times.

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!!
Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

62F72AF3-8CAF-49AA-A057-B5D75ABB7E69.png



#thealliance




PHC-Footer-05.gif


64E124ED-E71A-4088-9788-0E836FBC0236.jpeg

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi Redheadpei, you live in a very beautiful part of the world. I really enjoyed your many photos of the great blue heron.

Thanks Angie. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. I love seeing the great blue heron. Even in flight they look awesome.

Wow, look at the size, must be quite big in size!

Yes they are big. The wing span is sometimes over 6 ft. They can fly at a cruise of 20 to 30 (48 km) miles per hour.

Wow, that is really big!

The herons are awesome, aren't they? I love to watch them catching fish.

Lovely shots of that marvelous bird! They are often pretty shy, aren't they? Thanks for posting to #featheredfriday!

Thanks Melinda. It’s hard t get a closeup as they are easily scared and take off.

Those guys are amazing birds, incredible fishermen! lol. I wondered if they headed South and you confirmed it. I reckon most smart creatures in Canada head South for the winter!

They are smart birds alright for heading to Canada for the summer. 😂

haha! yes very true! I wish I could do that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72