Feathered Friday: Woodpeckers

#featheredfriday is hosted by @melinda010100. Check her post here for more info.

My feathered friend today is the woodpecker. The rhythmic tell-tale tapping on the tree bark gave away their location and I was able to get some photos.

The male Downey Woodpecker has the red patch on his head.


image


The male and female are similar with the female having a black patch on her head. Like all woodpeckers they use their stiff tails to help balance.


image


Downeys are the smallest of the woodpeckers.

I often hearing their drumming in the forest behind the house as they peck the trees for insects. These birds can be found in the forest, a park on any woodland. Like the loss of other birds, I have seen a sharp decline in their numbers.

The Yellow Bellied Sapsucker is a woodpecker. He likes to dig under the bark for the sap and insects. I often hear him drumming away when I’m walking outside.


image

This is a tree I saw in the forest. I suspect was pecked in this design by the yellow bellied sapsucker as he searched for sap under the bark.


image


Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel T6



#thealliance




PHC-Footer-05.gif


image

Sort:  

Beautiful woodpecker photos! They seem to be very active in your area.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You truly have some great artists up there! :)

I just love the pattern that he made on the tree and talk about a busy little bee! You really captured such nice shots and nature and birds are not that easy for me, for some reason. Perhaps, I am not patient enough.

But, you have a great eye and that autumn shot is exquisite!!!

!tip .20

Thanks Denise and for your generous tip. I’m happy you like the shots. The woodpeckers are quite elusive and will move around the tree when you try to photograph them. ♥️

Great photos! That design on the tree is quite incredible. That sapsucker is an artist! Thanks for posting to #featheredfriday. ❤️

Welcome Melinda @melinda010100. I’m happy you like the photos. 💕

Congratulations @redheadpei! This post was selected by the Power House Creatives as today's Rally Upvote Post :)

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our FB Page and Twitter feed.

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Thanks so much @steemitbloggers. Appreciated! 😊 💕

Wow you have them
I want a woodpecker here too hahahaha love the red and the fact they always are so busy !
Great feed

Thanks @brittandjosie. They are interesting busy birds. 😊 💕

They are just a amazing working bird they are i love them 👍

Thanks @hangin. I love seeing them but they are hard to photograph unless you hear the drumming.

This is true you got lucky with this one 👍

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

I have red-bellied woodpeckers at my house, and they also have red heads. They eat seeds from my bird feeder, and of course all of their names are "Woody." :D

I haven’t seen the red-bellied here . These ones never come near any food I put out, even bird seed. Woody seems an appropriate name 😂.

Beautiful post. Woodpeckers are quite unique birds. I liked the photo of the "marked" bark. Interesting design :)

Thanks @hlezama! The sapsucker is quite the artist. 😆

Wow, nice look and activity of woodpeckers photography.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.77
ETH 2579.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44