Feathered Friday: Blue Jay Youngsters

in #featheredfriday5 years ago (edited)

Happy #featheredfriday hosted by @melinda010100. Check out her post Here and add your #birding photos.

Blue Jays are always a constant in my backyard and I look forward to seeing them and hearing their songs. I know the Jay..Jay..Jay is not the best sound they have. They actually sing a sweet little thank you when I leave some treats out for them.

I’ve noticed these three beautiful birds staying together. There’s more gray feathers on the back of their necks than the adults. I think these are the youngsters from my mother Blue Jay. She is always around.


image


They are picking at some corn chowder.

This flapping of the wings is done by youngsters as they still want the mother to feed them.


image


Another one of the three.


image


The youngsters didn’t pose for me but the mother blue jay never lets me down. She likes modelling on the deck ball.


image


Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel T6

Photos & Text @redheadpei. All Rights Reserved.





#thealliance




PHC-Footer-05.gif


image

Sort:  

I love the very distinctive patterns and colours of these beautiful birds @redheadpei Great photos and I am sure you could watch this delightful trio for ages.

Beautiful birds blue life

Thanks @yousafharoonkhan and for stopping by!

Even Blue Jays exhibits the same corporal demeanor every youngster has😂

Hi Joel! Yes they have similar characteristics.

Oh my, their colour are so vibrant and beautiful!

Thanks @roselifecoach! Yes, the blue is pretty and stands out.

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a delayed resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

Thanks so much! Appreciated. ♥️

They are such characters and keep a watchful eye over the whole neighborhood. Even the chipmunks head for cover if the Jay's yell their warnings. Great photos!

Thanks Melinda. The Jays are always on the watch. 😊

Very beautiful bird! Unfortunately we don't have them here in Finland!

Thanks @borran and for visiting.

Beautiful birds here Lady Jo.
Pity we don't have them here for me to study.
Blessings!

Thanks Stephen. They seem to like the colder climates as they stay here all winter. I don’t know why for if I had wings I’d fly to a warmer place over winter. 😂
Blessing!

I love the photos @redheadpei, although growing up in the woods
Outside my small South Georgia (USA) town, they were my less
Than favorite bird.
Sure, they are pretty to look at, and if you are anywhere near one of
Their nests, you could get your hair rearranged by them divebombing
You. Also, their call was most unpleasant. (I never heard that sweet
Song you mentioned.)
There was one distinctive call they made, that my mother, a very
Country Wise" Lady, born in 1914 (she and daddy were from an entirely
Different world than me) swore she could tell was different, that they were
Shouting a warning to the other Jays (and anyone privy to their language)
That there was a SNAKE SNAKE in the immediate area.
Most times, Mama would go out and usually find such an encounter in
progress.
I remember a story as a child, that I have since been unable to find anywhere recorded, that years ago the Fairy Queen held a singing contest.
The Bluejay and the Redbird (cardinal) were the finalists.
The Bluejay was very prideful and sure of his victory, but the Fairy Queen
Chose the Cardinal who blushed.
The Bluejay was outraged and started protesting in a very raucous noise,
So the Fairy Queen cursed the Jay to always make that noise, and the
Cardinal was blessed to remain red.
Post upvoted my friend and resteemed

Thanks! Great story Jerry! Any bird that will warn of a snake is alright in my books. 😊

I've heard it and seen it with my own eyes and ears too often for it to not
Be true.
Wait... which story, the fairy queen or the snake warning ha ha ha.

Your mommy bird is quite a character...and the posing is so sweet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57797.87
ETH 3067.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29