First Featheredfriday post!

in #featheredfriday5 years ago

I was exploring the steemit community recently and came upon #featheredfriday hosted by @melinda010100 . I am still learning the ropes around here, but I am happy to have already found something fun to participate in with others who share my fondness for birds!

So here is the common raven (Corvus corax)! I love ravens, and yesterday I saw a couple around the hotel my sisters and I were visiting our dad at. I believe they were a pair, as they were flying together and appeared to be displaying; one was diving and rolling in the air! Unfortunately, I did not get photos of that action, but I have some cute captures of a single raven to share :)

raven crop1.png
so cute

raven crop2.png
~pose~

Ravens are part of the Corvidae family, which also includes jays, crows, magpies, and nutcrackers. Although ravens and crows are the ones usually given credit for their intelligence, all corvids are very smart and fun to watch!

And that is all the raven I have for this #featheredfriday. Thanks!

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

What a great first #featheredfriday post! Ravens are my favorites, and we don't have them here in Southern Wisconsin. You are doing a great job finding your way around Steem!

Thank you! I did not know they weren't widespread throughout the whole of the US, but looking at the range map now I see that they aren't present in the midwest through the southeast (with their northern range stopping just short of Southern Wisconsin, doh!). well, I hope you get to see some vagrants before the end of the year :)

If I travel a few hundred miles north I often see them. I feel left out that they don't come down to visit me!

I have never been very fanatical about these birds but many of the data you put is not aware

Congratulations @passerine! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Nice to see more people joining in! And cool photos!

Thank you, I am happy to join the flock!

Lovely photos! I have a couple of ravens that visit the backyard now and then. Mostly they fly overhead to see if I put anything they like to eat outside for the bluejays. They especially like leftover pasta foods😂

I wish I had raven backyard visitors! But we get crows sometimes, who I also like hehe

Did it say nevermore?:)

It mostly croaked XD

Mmm, is not the one I am looking for 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64