Winged killers

in #featheredfriday5 years ago

For this #featheredfriday, some of my favourite birds: raptors! Killers, yes, but not in a bad way... it's just nature! I doubt anyone can't admire their beauty; for me it's a thrill everytime I see one... even more when I am blessed to see them close! As it was the case here, while birdwatching in Alentejo.


y7cjfstj15.jpg

Black kite / Milhafre-negro (PT) - Milvus migrans

This was my favourite shot of the weekend, mainly because 99% of my photos of birds in quick flight tend to get completely out of focus!

Black kites are fairly common here, and along with the common buzzard they're probably the easiest birds of prey to spot. Sometimes they're hard to distinguish for the ones not used to birdwatch; they have similar size and colours, but there's a simple trick, even at a longer distance: just look at the tails! This is what a kite's tail looks like:


6ponp5eutq.jpg

And this is how a buzzard's tail looks like:


uxvsr90d3h.jpg

Common buzzard / Águia de asa redonda (PT) - Buteo buteo

See? Easy!

The kite stole the show this time. He was there with us as we went near the dam to watch the sunset, proud in the top of the leafless tree, scouting the horizon.


ahjwdk3r2h.jpg


ryvh669af9.jpg

He didn't wait for the sunset to fly away, but still allowed a ton of decent photos.


And in the following day, two more different species were seen. One of them is kind of special, because it's rare in Europe. Luckily for me, in a few places in Portugal he can be seen... and his colours make him unmistakable!


0xvfpn0kap.jpg

Black-winged Kite / Peneireiro cinzento (PT) - Elanus caeruleus

I spotted him moments before he decided to go hunting again. It's hard to see on the photo, but he has beautiful grey-bluish wings.

And to top the observations of birds of prey, one species I hadn't seen in years! They are common near water, and it's a species where there is sexual dimorphism, meaning adult males and females can be easily distinguished.


k5wx7rxbib.jpg

Western marsh harrier / Águia sapeira (PT) -Circus aeruginosus

I think this one is a young adult, and although not with a full adult plummage, given the grey on wings and tail, it's a male. And a beautiful one!


Two weeks in a row @melinda010100! I'm getting the hang of #featheredfriday again! ;) Happy birding everyone!

rgazlbwpwi.png

Still haven't joined Steemmonsters? In what planet do you live in? Click the banner below and join the fun! (It has my referral link; you can go directly to the website if you don't want to use it; either way... join in! 😎 )


@steemitportugal, a supporter of the portuguese community, is now also a witness! If you would like to give your support to this project, please click on the banner below to cast your vote:

STEEMITPORTUGAL-witness-460.gif

Sort:  

I love your #featheredfriday posts and always learn something from them. Dimorphism. A new word for me. Great photos of birds I have never seen!

Thank you! Always a pleasure to share some knowledge! 😄😉

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you guys!

Posted using Partiko Android

You captured some great bird photos - it’s not easy

Yep, especially with my bridge camera. But was really lucky on that weekend, lots of models to test my camera abilities! ;)

This post had received 20.32% upvote from @steemitportugal account!
Vote for @steemitportugal to Witness. Your vote is very important to us!
Visit our WebSite www.steemitportugal.com (tutorials,news...)
Thank you very much.
Click here to vote
steemitportugal
Delegation for daily voting: 10SP-25SP-50SP-100SP-250SP-500SP-1000SP

Magnificent photos @pardinus I'd love to capture birds in flight but I haven't had much success to date.

Thank you! I was lucky on this one, most of my flight photos end up blurred! Work in progress torwards decent photos ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59988.10
ETH 2415.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45