You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Feathered Friday

in #featheredfriday6 years ago

Such cute birds! Where in the world you live @melinda010100?. If it's in the american continent, you have an incredible app callen Merlin, from Cornel University, that helps a lot in identifying unknown birds. I've used it while travelling and it's just amazing, most of the birds from my Costa Rica trip were identified thanks to merlin app. Give it a try! ;)

Sort:  

I do have Merlin on my phone. I'm in Wisconsin in the American Midwest about an hour's drive from the Mississippi River. I did look up those birds that one that I suspect is a warbler was all puffed up because it was so cold outside and it was hard to tell from the photos what he was, and that last one I suspect is a juvenile, maybe Goldfinch, but again I'm not certain., and there was nothing in Merlin that looked like him at all. Some of these birds forget to follow the rules!

I think they are a male goldfinch, yellow rump warbler and bottom is a female goldfinch
but I agree, there are differences due to season and location.

Thanks for those IDs. I had never seen the warbler before. It was a new one for me so I wasn't totally certain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65921.21
ETH 2622.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69