Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=joanstewart
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=whistling-or-stabbing-birds-melody


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Appreciated, thank you @steemitworldmap

I enjoy your chatty style Joan.
I'm also a fan of all these birds.
the woolly necks are even a trifle too friendly and would come into the house for their treats if we allowed them to.
Do you also get the very friendly Willy Wagtails?
We are so blessed with all our bird life.

Wagtails are always around the garden, love this little chirps. Mossies have come into the kitchen looking for crumbs, Hadeda shout at us for food on the courtyard wall next to the kitchen. Yes we are lucky having an abundance of bird life.

I love it! These are birds I have never seen before and it is great to see and learn about them here! Your photos are wonderful, although I must say that duck looks like he is a sofa pillow! 🦆😂

Natural design in the feathers on both are stunning, the duck would make a wonderful feature pillow @melinda010100 thanks so much for keeping #featheredfriday running always been a wonderful place to share local birds.

Seems like the duck is a poser

Totally, did not bother with the time of day so long as it had the sun.

How cool the duck sat still for all these great shots, and then more great shots of Storks I remember seeing many storks in Entebbe and I think they were similar one to those you got there but I am not certain of that

Always on the day, winter months the birds do seem to slow down affording you the opportunity to get a few photo's. More than like you saw them up north, they appear to be more concentrated in those regions.

I think here a lot of the birds migrate away over the winter months so I dont get to see them in slower mood LOL

Great close-up shots of the duck, Joan. The storks are amazing with the wooly necks.

Duck allowed me to get close in under 10 feet from it which was surprising @redheadpei

Hi Lady Joan, a super post here!
I have photos somewhere of a flock of white faced ducks in the wild and we have heard their whistles, but I have not seen the Wooly necked Storks.
You certainly have taken some great shots of them.
Blessings!

Ducks have such pretty faces, everything happens in African time during the winter months, just hang out enjoying the sun.

Have a wonderful weekend Stephen, cold in the Cape once again I believe. Oh well at least you getting rain at the right time of the year down there.

A bit of a heavy storm with much damage in it's trail Lady Joan, but we need the water. Might hopefully even reach your shores, hopefully minus the damages.
Blessings!

Heard the Cape of Storms was living up to it's name again, it's those winds.... Does not look like this storm head will come this far up, we do need the rain.

Take care and keep wrapped up tight during your cold wet winter months Stephen.

Thank you Lady Joan and we had such a bright sun shiny day today that one would never think there were storms about.
Lat that I heard was that the cold front was heading towards East London, which is far from you guys. But one never knows with the strong winds.
Nevertheless we hope that you guys will get rain soon.
Blessings!

Beautiful photography!
The Storks are pretty impressive.
I was kind of hoping you might have had a recording of the whistling duck but I guess not if you have never heard it before.

I did a Google search for I was curious and came up with this video of the whistling duck - it's a pretty cool sound!

That is cute, if ever I hear them I will record. This little dumpling just sat and enjoyed life in the moment of glorious sun.

Storks are exceptionally tall, they do move slightly away when you approach, tend not to worry about much at all.

Beautiful photographs of bird my friend..
thanks for share with us..

Thanks @tussar11 have yourself a wonderful weekend.

I actually thought that first photo was of a soft toy! So 'furry'...
Great opportunity captures! :)

Exceptionally cute little face with those soft feathers.

Yes, I always think ducks look like they're ever smiling... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62226.04
ETH 2440.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63