An Early Morning Mourning Dove

in #featheredfriday5 years ago

I spotted this mourning dove one morning hanging out in a tree in my backyard. I actually heard hin or her before seeing it. Their cooing sounds are easily recognizable and do sound a bit mournful which is how it came to be known as a "mourning" dove.

4ju577ss23.jpg

9lwdf877ms.jpg

The cooing sound is almost always made by the male dove so either this is a male in my photo or the male was very close by and hidden from my sight.

rc8thx4p04.jpg

f8gofni59b.jpg

You will usually see mourning doves in pairs and are considered to be monogamous. There has been a pair in my yard this season and I believe they built a nest in a tree near the side of the house.

2unh9pn3m9.jpg

ebprxd51kq.jpg

The female will normally lay and incubate two eggs at a time and can raise several broods in a season. Both the male and female will incubate the eggs. I recently saw three mourning doves outside my house and wondered if one of them could have been a baby that had grown. The babies grow fast and usually leave the nest within a couple of weeks.

i3zpbptt3c.jpg

When I was younger I would feel bad if one of a pair of doves died (I still do) but the surviving dove will seek out another mate.

iyfrpyv1iz.jpg

5e5r2m3bgq.jpg

I'll be posting more photos of the mourning doves as they are pretty easy to photograph. They are very good at staying still long enough for this one (me) to get my camera, focus in and steady my hands!

s545mmuk9o.jpg

Here are a few edits I thought you might enjoy! I know I enjoyed making them! 😉

i7122ean5q.jpg
I just love the colors on this one and how it came out!

g41mw8qtou.jpg

ux30xf2w6k.jpg
I love the branch and beak shadows on this one!

0tgvacwob1.jpg

Thank you @melinda010100 for #featheredfriday!!

86ea2dyu0d.png

10t0fnrxjj.png

anonyvoterlogo.JPG

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Nice close-ups of mr Dove....

Thank you @manorvillemike!! It was nice that he sat so patiently for me! 😉

Beautiful captures and great info about the doves! Love your edits, especially the one with the fancy feathers! Thanks for posting to #featheredfriday

Thank you Melinda!! It was a joy to be able to post for #featheredfriday!! 💖

You’re funky edits are great! The one looks like a tropical parrot!

Thank you @dfinney!! Lol..I was thinking the same thing about that first one when I saw how the colors came out. 😊

You got a 25.46% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @deerjay! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current min bid is 1.5 SBD and max bid is 10 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82