Why I fight the good fight ~ Happy (belated) Fathers Day to all the dads out there.

in #fathersday6 years ago

The little girl who made me a dad.

IMG_1984.jpg

One of my best buddies text me this morning to wish me a happy fathers day. He also asked me if I got a nice gift, to which I replied, 'no, the best gift I could be given is to simply spend quality time with my daughter and wife'. It's the truth. I don't want or need things. I want life experiences. I want to feel love. To feel joy and happiness. But more than that, I want to see those things in my daughters eyes and for her to experience them even more than myself in her lifetime.

IMG_1977.jpg

Becoming a parent changes your outlook on a lot of things. It changes your perspectives. I can only speak for myself (although I would assume many parents would share these feeling), the things you used to do for yourself are cut to a minimum. The times of being selfish are few and far between. There is just too much to do with a little human that poops itself multiple times a day and can't verbalize it, among many other things.

When I first started down the road of self-ownership, I was only thinking about myself. How everything directly or indirectly effected me personally. And why wouldn't I? I was the only person I needed to care for at the time. Since then, I have gotten married and have a daughter, with a new baby boy on the way. Not only have my personal priorities changed, but the reasons I advocate what I do have as well. The message is still the same, but the end goal is different.

IMG_2099.jpg

It's not for me anymore, it's for them. Some very wise people like to say "Be the change you want to see in the world". I agree whole heartedly with that sentiment, but the context has changed for me. I'm not doing it so I can see it. I'm doing it so they can live it.

Happy belated Fathers day.

Sort:  

A dad is a man who keeps photos where his money used to be.

I absolutely love that saying, now that I've heard it. Thanks so much Matt!

Hope you were showered with love and appreciation yesterday!

Not til September here in Australia, but I'm sure I will be :)

Hope you have many more great fathers days - Your doing good. Quick tell me a lame dad joke! (gotta keep you on your feet)

Haha! lol, my go to fave is..."What did the buffalo say to his boy as he left for school?"......"Bison."

Happy Fathers Day my friend. No kids here, but I will always remember the sacrifices my Dad made for me.

Thanks man. I am glad to hear you have such admiration for your father. I can only hope my children will have as much for me.

That is an adorable post and I hope more and more dads will think like you as humanity progresses. I was lucky to catch a good dad when I got married almost 30 years ago. You can't really tell until that first bundle is born, can you. My girls have grown up to become amazing young women who know what they want while being most loving and caring at the same time. I put that down (at least a big part of it) to the fact that their dad has spent a lot of time with them when they were little, and they always knew how much he loves them (and me). It looks like your wife and children are as lucky as we are. :)

Thanks so much!

Yeah, you don't really know until you're thrown into the fire. But so far so good! Happy to hear your daughters had a wonderful upbringing by a loving father (& mother) :)

Congratulations @intothewild! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75