Cliches are meant to be broken

in #fat6 years ago (edited)

It's so cliche. Starting a new lifestyle on the 1st of January. Millions of people around the world do it. They say "I'm going to change my life." And they do great...for a few days...those really ambitious ones last even a few weeks but ultimately, life gets the best of them and they fall back into routine. In my life, routine has become to gain weight year after year. I look back at pictures from when I thought I was fat and wish I was back to that size. In the nearly 10 years that I have been with my husband (dating 1, married going on 9), I have gained over 100 lbs. I hate the way I look. I hate the way I feel. I want change. But like I say, that's cliche to make a change at the beginning of the year. That's why gym memberships go up 70% this time of the year. Gyms are crowded for a few weeks then everyone falls back into their old habits and never step foot back into that place they claimed for their resolutions. But I want to break the mold that I have followed for 10 years. In 2018, I want to lose 118 lbs. And I know...that's insane talk. And I know, it would be nearly impossible. But I say shoot high. Dream big. So I am planning to start eating right and exercising daily. I joined a Krav Maga gym back in October and I want to become someone who enjoys running. So, right here, right now, I am going to pledge a few things:
Starting now, and for all of 2018, I want to:

  1. Go to at least 3 Krav Maga Classes a week.
    -----This will keep me motivated and moving. It's fun but pushes me.
  2. Walk/Jog/Run a mile every day. Completing a 5K (3.12 miles) training every month.
    -----I would like to run in the New Orleans Saints' Kickoff Run 5K. This is in September.
  3. Drink MOSTLY water. No sodas, No Teas, no sugary drinks.
    -----I have done well with the no sodas. But I have been drinking Sweet Tea and coffee. I want to cut it all out.
  4. Go to bed with at least 10,000 steps recorded everyday.
    -----I have a Garmin Vivofit2. I want to use this to make sure I log my steps. Just get moving!
  5. Shop the perimeter of the grocery store (no more preservatives. etc.)
    -----I want to cut a lot of unnecessary fats (bad fats) and sugars. By buying fresh fruits and veggies, I can do this!
  6. Log 1480 calories a day.
    -----I only want to consume around 1480 calories. MyFitnessPal app places me at 1480 for my weight/goal.
  7. Burn at least 500 calories a day.
    -----A pound of fat equals roughly 3,500 calories. I split that into 7 days, so 500 calories a day.
  8. Drink at least half of my body weight in oz of water per day.
    -----I want to start drinking a ton of water. This will help kill the hunger pangs and will keep me from consuming extra and unwanted/unneeded calories.
  9. Log all of my activities.
    -----I need accountability. If I get that from an app, it would be great! If I get it from blogging, that is great too!
  10. Lose 2-2.5lbs per week/9-10lbs per month
    -----This will help me to meet my ultimate goal of 118lbs lost!

So you see my plan.

New Years Resolution 2018: Be a success story.

Anyone want to join me?

NewNow.jpg
NewThen.jpg

Sort:  

Hi Abbie, one thing that might help you is to share your progress online. It doesn't have to be here on steemit, there are other platforms (bodyspace or some privat groups on fb) that help you to stay motivated.
I wish you all the best and that you can reach your goal :)

Congratulations @abbiecates! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63156.26
ETH 3071.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86