1000 followers, Gratitude Day 6 and Water Fast Day 3

in #fasting7 years ago (edited)

Today I hit 1000 followers and am grateful for Steemit. I’m feeling better on the water fast too, so the day is a winner all round!

gratitude-day6.jpg

We’re all grateful for Steemit

So I’m not going to blather on too much about why - just a succinct summary:

• Thanks for the sense of community
• Thanks to the 1000 people who are following me, and future followers
• Yay for the fabulous friends I’ve made
• So pleased I’ve regained my enthusiasm for writing
• The Steem in my wallet is greatly appreciated
• But even better is the introduction to cryptos, and the knowledge gained, which meant we were able to invest (hopefully wisely) when we got the opportunity. So far, so good.
• Thanks for the laughs, the love and the education, and the many years of fun we may still have together.

kiwideb-1000-followers.jpg

Today’s water fast report

Later in the evening yesterday, my energy picked up a bit and I choreographed some exercises for my arthritis class. We start back on Monday and I want to have a whole new routine for them, full of songs about summer and sunshine. I’ve still got a few songs to go, but need to get them finished tomorrow.

I slept pretty well but didn’t have masses of energy first thing. This morning, I wasn’t terribly keen on the idea of a walk, and took it a bit more slowly than usual, but kept up a steady pace. I’m doing ok on my water intake, though possibly not as much as previous days. The hunger has been ok, and my energy has been fairly good. So all in all, I’m happy with how things are going.

I did some muscle testing and tested that tomorrow morning is still a good time to finish the fast, or at least the first stage of it. Tomorrow, I’ll be cutting my water down to two litres and drinking several mugs of bone broth, and I can tell you I’m looking forward to it! The next day I will add back eggs – some beaten up with broth in the morning, and a couple boiled later in the day. Then I’ll add back two new foods each day.

clear-broth-1623462_640.jpg

So what exactly is muscle testing?

Amongst other modalities, I’m a kinesiologist. The kind of kinesiology I do is stress testing a muscle to see how it responds to different stimuli. Often I muscle test my clients for food allergies. This involves them holding the suspect food, while I press down on an extended arm. If they have a bad reaction to the food, the muscle will generally go weak and they won’t be able to hold their arm up.

That’s a very simplified explanation, but you get the idea. I can also test myself, using muscles of one hand and testing with the other. This is commonly known as the O-ring test.

O-ring-muscle-test.jpg

Why I didn’t get headaches or other symptoms

Other people have reported headaches or other unpleasant symptoms while fasting. But apart from some hunger and some fatigue, I’ve felt fine. I think this is because our diet is pretty good anyway. We eat nearly 100% whole foods, and a lot of that is organic. We don’t eat gluten or processed foods, and know what foods we have bad reactions too.

In the past I’ve done elimination diets where I’ve eaten only certain foods, and have felt pretty ill for a few days. But this time I’m only getting reactions to no eating, without any withdrawal symptoms from coming off foods that I might be allergic / addicted to.

Thanks for reading.

Photos by myself, @sift666 or from Pixabay, unless otherwise stated.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts.

See my last post of 2017 for a full archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, see the list on this post. Let me know if you want to be added, or want to add your location.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (But don’t just say Hello. Tell me straight away why you’re messaging, without waiting for me to say Hello back.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

Sort:  

That's pretty cool using water a form of therapy to cleanse the body. I love drinking broths. I didn't realize that we've been practicing broth drinking since I was a child. I've always thought that broth is soup. :D

I think everybody has a different idea of what broth, stock and soup mean. To me, broth or stock are just the clear liquid from cooking up the bones. While soup is what it becomes when you add veges.

Trying the intermittent fasting right now once a week. I wanna give that water diet a try one of these days. As long as I'm allowed to drink black coffee ;p

Ha ha ha - good joke! No sorry, just water. I will probably go back onto intermittent fasting again when I finish this.

Congratulations on your followers and the will to keep up with fasting!!!

Thanks! Next milestone is rep 67; I'm teetering on 66.9

It takes forever doesn't it!!! I think I've been on 68 for a year!

This all sounds mighty fascinating! If your energy is fine you are laughing.

Congrats on your 1K!

Well, comparatively fine. I'm not going to be joining @trevor.george on any of his runs. Oh wait, I wasn't going to be anyway.

Hehe, yeah, I can see where you are coming from there. I wouldn't either!!

good work - at least you are hydrated

I certainly should be hydrated by now!

First time I have heard of a water diet. This is the year to make a few changes to my lifestyle, I will be watching your posts with interest.

It's not for the faint of heart. It's a short term therapeutic measure, aimed to push the reset button. But there are lots of other ways to make easier changes. It's taken me 20 years of nutrition changes (and preparation) to get to this. Some of my older posts might interest you too.

will definitely look them up.

Congrats! Just hit 500 a few days ago myself :) Steemit is awesome lol

That s interesting...

Glad it interested you.

1000 Follower, amazing! I hope I can make this someday. I saw now so many people whos life also changed thanks to Steemit, I think we all should be grateful for this community here, as it really can change something out in the internet. :)

Stick with it, write about what you know and care about, make friends here and you'll get there.

That's true, but I am still on my way to explore steemit and I am not really sure how to make good friends here :D But giving my best for now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66094.73
ETH 3446.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66