PSYCHOLOGICAL EFFECTS OF WORKING AT FAST FOOD DRIVE THRU'S?

in #fastfood7 years ago

images (5).jpg

As a McDonald's employee, I believe that working at the drive-thru (taking orders and money) can cause some serious psychological effects. This is an opinion.
I do not say this for the reason that it's boring or an awful job but for the fact that I have noticed how it affects me.
First, let me explain what goes on when working in the drive-thru.
At my Mcdonald's, taking orders and money at the drive-thru can last for about six hours straight. There are times when there are no cars of course but most of the times, it is taking orders.
You are repeating basically the same words for that time, for example,
I say "Hi, may I take your order, please?"
Then the person starts to say what they want and after each item of food they want, I 99.99% of the times say,
"Anything else"
or if I am feeling moody then,
"ok?".
And when they are done or I think they are done I say,
"Is that all?"
(Side Note)- I sort of master the ability to know when someone is done ordering depending on their tone of voice or words they use.
Anyways just imagine saying that for about 6 hours to more than 50 cars.
Also, don't forget about the many questions people ask.
Throughout the day this same routine goes on and your emotions may change a lot.
You might get annoyed, upset, happy, excited, "in love", etc.
This can happen because the customers might order in a rude manner, ask annoying questions, do things that get you mad. Or you talk to someone really happy and friendly. Or you see a beautiful girl! (I have a crush on like 100 girls a day).
All this obviously causes so many things to go through your mind. This can lead to a lot of stress and depression.
For example, after a busy period passes and there are no cars for about 3 minutes, I tend to want to bang my head on the wall or punch the wall, like I have done before.
I start acting foolish and talking to myself about random things.
I make random noises that I would never make.
And I start thinking about weird scenarios or random events that would not make sense.
And I also tend to feel depressed. Having horrible thoughts.
Maybe I am the only one that this happens to but it does not feel right.
If this is a problem which many people experience it should be solved somehow.

Sort:  

Congratulations @virod! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @virod! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63491.17
ETH 2618.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79