Obey and Just do it!

in #fashion6 years ago

Clothes Brands

Do you know something that REALLY gets on my tits?! People walking around with this splashed on a T-Shirt..

obey.png

Or EVEN worse this one..

just do it.png


I'm not one to think twice to ask a stranger something in the street as to why they are doing something or what they think about something. The other day I saw a young woman wearing a hoody (no im not anti -hoody, I wear them also of course!) and it was made by the clothes brand "Obey". The last few years I'm seeing a lot more people wearing this brand as im often in the city for hours on end. I'm lucky enough to only see minimum adds that my eyes catch on to when im in the city like on buses or shop windows that I pass, and I am thankfully lucky not to be bombarded daily from televisions, newspapers, music, or constantly swiping through a smartphone of ads popping up in my face.
I see this brand Obey is quite well known, and I learnt from this girls hoody that the slogan on for OBEY is "World Wide Properganda" which I really had to laugh at- How can anyone walk around wearing this conformist properganda?!

I didn't know the real story and just heard rumors that it was first all designed by an "activist" and he was creating provocative clothing as a form of art. In the beginning it was an anarchist brand and has since gone very commercial made popular by celebrity's. I haven't watch MTV in around 15 years, but I wonder how many times someone has worn clothing just with the words OBEY and none of the original pieces that were thought provoking? It seems that the original intention has been flip reversed into actually something our minds are seeing daily.

Imagine (which isn't very hard to) the words Obey are being slapped on T-shirts in Chinese factory's on dodgy fake's and nobody seems to have any of the original art pieces on the clothing they are wearing anymore. Where does all this merchandise end up? I believe his idea was taken from the movie THEY LIVE (the link is just to the short trailer).

Imagine you go on holiday to a poorer country and there's 100s of people who ended up with many obey T-shirts selling you your fruit at the market and walking around the streets! Brainwashing each other on the daily?!

There once was a time when I also did buy many "fashionable" brands like Gstar Raw and Timberland etc, but I realized that its part of the trap of society because we loose our dreams and forget what it was we wanted money for in the first place, and instead we go buy the crap we just don't truly need. You know those times with no money, you have all the ideas in the world how you could use 100 bucks to make 400bucks from, and when you have that 100 bucks, that idea is long gone and them new shoes are suddenly now affordable! Consuming takes over because the next pay check is not far away just like a drip feed!

I'm quite concerned that more and more people will be buying this brand the cheaper it becomes, and the effects on the public will be mind numbing as more people wear it, more peoples vision will catch it. We see that word, exactly how it was represented in the film which was a message to control the people, and I find this disturbing. What happened to the original art pieces like this T-shirt pictured Left? Now all I see is the word OBEY, where as the originals in the beginning said "Obey No-one". See what I'm getting at here?!


All you are seeing now is clothing products like this exampled Below..

obey cap.jpgimage source

And no more of the originals..

make art not war.pngpower glory.png

"Oh its just for fashion" Is what the girl told me when I asked why she is wearing it.


Are you aware of the words that are written on your clothing? And do you also have the same views as I do on this?!

Maybe there are some other classic examples that I missed, but that's due to me being out of the "madhouse" of society and not keeping up with the fashion :)

helpienaut.png

helpie.png

sugar cocain.jpg
Untitled.png

canna.jpg

My last post:A few days playing EOS Knights!

Sort:  

People...be creative!! Make your own shirts. It is simple. Buy a blank t-shirt , make a sticker and iron it on the shirt. 1535657081847-438602192.jpg

This shirt costs me 3 $ US ;)

1535657275773-863400936.jpg

RESPECT 👍

Thats a cool way! I get alot of my clothes from clothes collection points that are dotted around, when people take sacks of clothes to be "sent to africa" to those containers, its easy to wait and ask people if you can directly recycle/upcycle them first. Who really knows what happens to them clothes after all the transporting 😂

Are you aware of the words that are written on your clothing?

Today I'm using my vintage "Europython 2008" t-shirt :-)

Before you slap a brand on yourself, remember what a "brand" is.

Cattle is branded by their owner.

Enough said.

Thanks for the post Brother!

😀 Perfectly said!

Obey was started and owned by graffiti artist Shepard Fairey. The phrase "Obey" is used as satire like a joke on the people obeying the brainwashing of big brand names. All of the "propaganda" is satire.

Yes, but there is a point where the satire becomes so successful, that it becomes a parody of itself and can no longer preach from its high moral pulpit and becomes empty and hollow when it joins the ranks of popularity. Hence brands now picking it up and running with it. Fairey's creation has become the very monster he was identifying.

Completely agree! @leoplaw

Your correct but, his original art pieces have vanished like I say, the original piece had OBEY No-one, but now all I see people wearing is OBEY. Ask them, why they wear it :) next one you see.. I bet 10 steem no-one will say "because its sarcasm".. :)

I haven't noticed this message around here, but I'm sick of the kind of slogans brand stores put on their clothing, especially the feminist messages.
Proud to say my son has a Disobey T-shirt with the Anonymous logo and he picked it himself at a streetfair!

That's more like it! To have not just the words Obey alone makes it instantly satire, which is then not so subliminal to a mind :) hope you are well @ladyrebecca :)

I say this stuff all the time! LoL.. why the fuck do we pay these companies to advertise for them?? Its bullshit.. but then I remember how stupid most people are and they don't realize what they are doing, they have been brainwashed into believing if there is no label then it is worthless! Fuckin brilliant advertising by these fuckers for sure! I always try to buy plain clothes and save the money, its just sometimes hard finding good quality clothes without some kind of brand splashed on it somewhere 😒

hihi :) at work , we were given StromBerg Jackets for the winter as we are stood in the cold selling street magerzines, which is great BUT this brand StromBerg, is fucking expensive shit! Try selling a homeless magerzine whilst wearing a 600usd jacket with STROMBERG badges on it.. you dont sell shit as the people think you got money for jackets they wouldnt ever think to buy because of the price. I scribbled the badges out with marker pen hahahahaahahah.

Thanks for dropping in dude! Off to work now for some actifit action :P

I worked with a guy, who was at the top of the company, that wore the same Obey shirt almost everyday. I asked him about it, and him openly admitted the intention was to affect the minds of the people who worked for him.

Wow! In what country? Thats quite unique,DAM i forgot to include hugo BOSS as an example!!!!!!

It was in the US

Clever guy! WAS being the right word to have read :P

You have recieved a free upvote from minnowpond, Send 0.1 -> 10 SBD with your post url as the memo to recieve an upvote from up to 100 accounts!

Hi @movingman!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation! Your UA account score is currently 3.197 which ranks you at #8294 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has risen 121 places in the last three days (Your UA has improved by 0.000).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 204 contributions, your post is ranked at #57.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

It's annoying to me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63122.79
ETH 3119.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86