DESIGNING & CREATING UPCYCLED, EMBELLISHED DENIM JACKETS.

in #fashion6 years ago (edited)

My passion with #fashion design

As a creative soul I’ve always had a penchant for redesigning clothing into my own style & adding personal touches to pieces.
Even through high school I had teachers comment about how, despite wearing the school uniform I’d managed to make it my own style!
I’ve always loved sewing, refashioning, making my own clothes, flaring pants, adding patches onto vests & making my own jewellery.

CDB10879-3BE8-43DF-BC3E-C9C90A771BF4.jpeg

A few years back after getting numerous comments on a denim jacket I’d upcycled by designing some back panels & adding some deconstructed shell belts to create essentially a whole new jacket, I ventured into creating a small business, the Mystic Boho, through an Etsy store around the concept of upcycling denim jackets & giving them a unique & bohemian vibe.

77CC40E7-DBFA-4FF0-AE36-96527256E670.jpeg

How I make Upcycled jackets


The initial step in this adventure was finding some cool denim jackets to work with.
So I’d often scour second hand stores, op shops & thrift stores to discover denim jacket treasures in different sizes & designs.

Materials I use


From there, I use a range of materials to create the back panels that make up the major part of the design.
These can vary from Thai Hmong embroidered panels to more Peruvian & Indian inspired textiles that I’ll deconstruct & restitch to the jacket.

100201C1-710F-4A8E-B810-EDF3CD63C306.jpeg

Embellishments used


Contrasting trims with tassels, coins or even Pom poms are stitched across the panels to complete the main piece & often on the front pockets of the jackets as a little bling. Then, for some wow factor I’ll often add something extra special like some vintage Kuchi medallions.
5719E093-AB74-4C84-BE44-B6BE74347CD3.jpeg
Each one is truly unique & one of kind embodying a bohemian style.
Perfect to stand out from the crowd!
From humble beginnings to now sending orders across the globe to places like Germany, New York & Sweden it’s so exciting to create pieces that I’m passionate about for people all over the world!

Sort:  

Wow, these are gorgeous! There was a time when I was really big into upcycling, i'm not sure why I got out of that. You have inspired me to get back into it! Thank you! I hope you continue to share your designs here. I'd love to see more. ♥

Yes @paintingangels!! Do it! Upcycling is so much fun & it’s unique to give your clothes a creative & one of a kind vibe. Will definitely be sharing more creations.. there’s always something in the making.. I be started a few baby boho jackets for kiddies! 💜

I love these! It just gives a new life to the jacket! And each looks unique! do you sell them or just make for yourself?

Hi @ankapolo! For sure it gives new life to a basic jacket. I sell a range of jackets & vests at the Mystic Boho which you can find on Etsy. 😊

Wow, those are awesome... I feel like its a bit of a flashback for some reason.. not that I recognize the patterns I just feel like I do.

Thanks @meno.. I guess back panels on denim have gone through the waves of being “in fashion” through different eras of the music & fashion industry. 😊

Congratulations @marysemciver! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

We recommended this post here.

We are Discover Steem, if you like our work consider giving us an upvote. :) If you don't wish to receive recommendations under your posts and to be recommended, reply with STOP.

Absolutely awesome. I'm in the slow-fashion space so love to see up-cycled items like this!

So beautiful , where can I buy ?

I see it on Etsy ! xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57688.87
ETH 3100.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37