DIY bracelet with super thin, but strong elastic for beads with small holes.

in #fashion6 years ago (edited)

Hi!

How is your day?
One of the things I did today was make this bracelet.
It has an elongated natural freshwater pearl as the eye catcher, combined with small tourmaline beads in all kinds of shades of green and teeny tiny hematite beads with their dark grey metallic shine and small goldfilled beads to give it a little sparkle here and there.

IMG_20180112_183110.jpg

I'm exited about it because I found this very thin, but very strong elastic of 0,4 mm!
I didn't know it existed with the kind of strength that it has. Believe me I have been pulling at it with a lot of strength to test it and it held. 😃

IMG_20180112_183039.jpg
Now it is possible to string really nice facetted beads and pearls on it which usually have such small holes.
(They have such small holes because drilling the beads with a bigger drill often makes the beads crack. You can get the fancy beads with bigger holes but they are the more expensive kind.)

To make this you need some beads. Things that make it interesting are:

An eye catcher bead, like my elongated pearl, tube beads are also nice for this.
Different sizes and/or colours semi precious gemstones.
To make it really nice, some shiny precious metal beads. For gold coloured beads I recommend using only goldfilled quality as it has three layers of gold on top of messing and lasts almost a lifetime, while it is much more affordable then solid gold.
The teeny ones work well as a detail in between the other beads, as a 'frame' around special beads or when you start with a new kind of beads.

IMG_20180112_182947.jpg

You will also need a crimp bead cover, to cover up the knot you make. Or if you don't have that, a bead with a large hole that you can slide the knot under.

This is a crimp bead cover:
(It is basically an open metal bead that you can close over a crimp bead or a knot.)

IMG_20180112_182903.jpg

To close the crimp bead you need a flatnose plier and to cut the elastic some kind of cutter:

IMG_20180112_183148.jpg

A handy trick 😉 : Before you put the crimp bead cover over the knot, tighten the knot properly and the cut the ends off at about 3 mm from the knot and dab some superglue on the knot. It will melt the knot stuck forever. Now it's safe to put the crimp bead on.

If you feel inspired to let your creativity loose, I wish you a lot of fun with it!

If you want to see what else I make with high quality material, have a look at my webshop: www.claartje.net
(I also send internationally and make custom design.)

This was an @ecotrain post. Curious? Check out our weekly highlights magazine:
https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@eco-alex/see-what-s-new-from-the-ecotrain-in-our-steemit-magazine-amazing-posts-and-something-for-everyone-don-t-miss-it

Sort:  

You liked this tutorial?This is another one I made that takes a little more skill but if you put your heart in to it I'm sure you will manage.
https://steemit.com/eco-train/@clara-andriessen/diy-small-goldfilled-hoops

thanks for sharing your tips.. you are an amazing jewellery maker and very cool to share your knowledge

Yay! Thanks eco-alex, I appreciate it. Now are you going to make one then? ;-)

I love the long freshwater pearl!

Thank you! Yes, they are gorgeous, I don't know how the oyster produces it but it is original.

That's really beautiful. I love how you have put it all together!

Thanks. There are more tutorials on my blog. Check out: https://steemit.com/eco-train/@clara-andriessen/diy-small-goldfilled-hoops

Thank for the tip, will do! :)

Nice jewelry tutorial. I'm glad to see more people showing jewelry making tips on here :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60844.65
ETH 2995.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88