Dressmaking: the lazy person's guide

in #fashion6 years ago

So in my introduce yourself post I mentioned that I do some dressmaking. I figured then, that you guys might like to see how I made this one:
Screenshot_20180221-155304 (2).png

This is one of my own designs (mainly because I'm too lazy to follow complex patterns and I like to improvise to find the simplest way of doing things.) I know it may look pretty difficult but in terms of the main bodice there is actually only one line of stitching. And so, here's how its done...

First you buy material about 1.5-2 metres in length and depending on how tall you are around 1.5 metres in width. This is because the width of the material is actually going to be the length of you. As I will demonstrate with my very poor artistic skills:
IMG_20180221_153951265.jpg

Once you have your material laid out flat fold it in half and then either measure the size of your chest, half it and mark on the dress from the fold:
IMG_20180221_154306997.jpg
or wrap the material around yourself and hold it where it meets around your chest with an even amount of material on each side left. Then mark it so you know where to sew.
You may notice that the material left hanging is quite substantial... this is integral to accomplishing the flow on the back of the dress.

Now sew down diagonally from the mark you just made to the other end of the material like so:
IMG_20180221_154411226.jpg

Once this is done and the dress is on it will hang but with no shape, something like this

IMG_20180221_154527787.jpg

Then to create shape and make the dress hug your figure you take a section from each side at the back and pull it together behind you... WARNING particularly shoddy attempt at drawing what I'm trying to explain.
IMG_20180221_154746928.jpg

This can be seen in a closer look at the back of the dress

Screenshot_20180221-155401.png

(apologies for the poor quality of the photo)
these two side parts of the dress have been fastened using a hook and eye which then adds the textured layering effect in the back of the dress.
After this you simply add on some straps and there you have it.

(side note, unfortunately this dress does not work with individuals with wider hips than bust as it will not fit over them, however I have devised a variation that does suit a wider hipped shape)

If you have any questions feel free to ask, and if you'd like to see the other variation of the dress do comment and let me know :)

stay safe out there xox

Sort:  

Congratulations @abergurl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Totally random but I love it!

Cool! I wonder how hard it is to actually make your own dress. Because i’ve been thinking of making my own clothes. Looking for the right fit for me at the store has really been frustrating and i really want to make them on my own. But with no basic sewing skill at all, i’m afraid i’m just being too ambitious

Heya, to be honest in terms of skill I don't actually have much either! That's why I always improvise it haha, but you can get some really nice easy patterns for skirts and things to start off with. It's never too late to start! :)

I will definitely try to make my own dress one day. :) Do keep on posting if you are making another dress, I would love to read about it :D

you should! it's a lot of fun, definitely post if you do and send me a link! :) and I will for sure, thank you!

The best way to learn is get a sewing machine and read the manual get the readers digest complete guide to sewing book.![]
()
This is the best book for learning to sew. We had this book in our fashion sewing class. and I still have it and use it. It covers everything. my other recombination to you. Is to learn the way that I did on your own by lots of mistakes and no real teaching. You can try pillows but I recommend you try to make a wrap around skirt. It will get you use to sewing that you can wear and get your confidence up. I can help you with this through the wrap around skirt I made step by step. here is the links if you are interested.

and this is part 2

Maybe this will help you get started making your own clothes.

Wow! That’s very helpful 😊 will definitely let you guys know if i start making my own clothes ☺️

Great to hear. I hope you can accomplish your goals making your own clothes. My website has a lot of helpful hints on draping and not so much sewing yet we're getting there.

I will check it out. Thanks for the info 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06