The Old Dog Asks: What's in a Name? In Some Cases Embarassing Bloopers! Part One

in #fart7 years ago

Is that really what the company called themselves? It might be a great name in Italian but it sure doesn't work very well in English! Then again, maybe it does! Funny is funny!

Exhibit One: What is Actually Powering These Buses?

Sometimes when forming an acronym you've got to be careful! This is the case when it comes to the public transport system in the area of Locarno Switzerland.

The system is called: Ferrovie Autolinee Regionali Ticinesi. Of course, no one wants to say that big mouthful every time and so they've decided to use an acronym. That's right, you guessed it, it's FART

This name has been emblazoned onto every one of their buses, signs and adverts and the tourists LOVE it!

Taking a Ride on This Transport System is a Real Gas!


Day or night the Fart transport system will power you to where you need to go! Photo credit


Here you can see the name proudly displayed on both the front and side! Photo credit


Here is  another example of their beautiful Fart Logo. Photo by @kus-knee 

The Tourists Love it!

If you travel to the area it's not at all unusual to see tourists  posing, pointing at the logo and having a friend take a snap shot! I'm convinced that the Ferrovie Autolinee Regionali Ticinesi has caught on by now but what the heck, it's a lot of fun!


Farting (taking a picture with the logo) is a fun activity for the tourists. Photo credit left. Photo credit right.


What Have You Learned?

  • Do you know of any strange acronyms?
  • Do you have an example of a company name that doesn't translate well?
  • Would you like to take a ride on the Fart transport system? It's a gas!


I hope that you enjoyed this article "What's in a Name? In Some Cases Embarassing Bloopers! Part One" Stay tuned for part two where I'll reveal an even stranger and more embarrassing name!


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Remember, if you upvote my post and leave a comment I will do my best to upvote it with some of my 41,000 plus Steem Power! 

Sort:  

I would feel weird riding in that!!

You'd have a good laugh!

wahahahahah .. sounds like a smelly bus
thanks for the belly laughter Old dawg !
was about to log out but wondering if you have a post so i dropped by

I'd have no problem taking a FART to where I need to go - I'm not sure that came out right - LOL. I just made myself laugh.

How about this one:

I love your sign @gringalicious! Thanks for sharing it!

Ahah! You keep to my mind some memories! The first time I knew the meaning of the word "fart" was when I took a friend of my mine visiting from Chicago to Locarno station. He started to laugh like crazy and I didn't know why. Funny part is that since he was going to Valais he took the FART train. He had a safe trip by the way, maybe not that fragrant....
Smiling-01

Good story. Thanks for sharing it!

Haha I love the FART buses :-)
Did u see the TITS van here in Ticino?
(Tecno Impianti Termo Sanitari)

Yes, that's why my article was called Part One! Too funny!

Really funny! I admin that I didn't know what "fart" means, now I know :D This remind me a comics that I read years ago (I don't remember if Dylan Dogs or other italian comics) where all the story goes around a misunderstanding about the acronym "s.e.s.s.o" for a foreign company in Italy (it was a spy story :D )

Yes, that seems to be a dangerous acronym! Thanks for the visit you good strong artist!

Hahhahahahhaaha WHAT??

This is a funny and entertain post.
I just powered up a bunch of steem! (well for me anyways ;-)> )
So now I can upvote ur posts better! We all win with more SP!

SteemON!

The Mighty Quinn is getting even Mightier? Nice, you deserve lot's of success my friend for who you are and what you do!

Thanks Dawg!

Great getting to know you here on Steemit and I appreciate your support!

SteemON!

Hilarious!

Glad that you liked it!

Ahahahahahahahahah! Gran bel nome hanno scelto!
Qui c'è la V.i.t.a.di cui non sono riuscito a trovare il senso letterale,ma quello acronimo è abbastanza intuitivo ma non fa ridere purtroppo 🙂 image
Immagine scaricata da Google images

Ciao bello! Grazie per il tuo commento e la foto!

Ciao!!Ci mancherebbe! grazie a te per i tuoi post davvero interessanti!😉✌

Bwahahahha !! A FART BUS !! Now i've Heard of Everything !! We all know how stinky buses can be ! LOL! Great post my friend , Keep up the great work !upped and resteemed 🚌💨 🚌💨 🚌💨 🚌💨

Thanks for the comment. I love the movie Liar Liar. So funny!

Haha ! Your welcome , that movie cracked me up !! Sooooo funny , im glad you liked it !!😂😂😂

Haha. My favorite Vietnamese restaurant in town is called the Pho King Kitchen and their Web site is phokinghungry.com

Yikes! Now, did they do it on purpose as a marketing ploy or was it all in innocence?

I do not expect that it was that innocent but I have not asked them. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57213.13
ETH 2415.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40