Coffee Growing my Own (The Adventure Begins)

in #farming6 years ago (edited)

Having never lived in a tropical mountainous area, I have never had the opportunity to grow coffee until now.

I grind my own coffee beans every morning and use a French press to make my morning coffee. I brought coffee beans with me from the states, but my once ample supply was depleted after about 6 months. Since that I have been drinking coffee with beans grown in the Philippines. I must admit the flavor is delightful!

A few years ago we purchased some property and we have been growing so many varieties of fruits and vegetables. We noticed towards the bottom right corner of the property some small coffee plants. We cleared around them and tilled up the soil. We also planted some more in the same area. Yesterday, to my delight, I saw blooms on the coffee plants, but I also saw abundant coffee beans on most, if not all of the plants.

5443D757-DBC4-49E7-9F96-AF795F0192F3.jpeg

BDE8D64F-4A16-4F05-A7D5-12F6145A5525.jpeg

B0E2506A-427D-45B5-851B-8E24F3A93F33.jpeg

Here are the blooms that attracted me to the plants.
D96B58B3-5261-481A-8B00-94D55CEAC168.jpeg

Now for me the education and adventure begins.

  • When to pick?
  • How to Roast?

Mindanao Philippines has a long history of growing fantastic coffee.

So I am a clean slate, ready and willing to learn. I have always enjoyed eating food grown on my own family farm. Now I have the adventure and opportunity to grow, process and drink coffee grown on my own place.

Excited!

Daddy William
45FBBB72-3652-4C9A-9BBA-104665B6AA05.jpeg

All proceeds from this account will be used to help the people of the Philippines and Eastern Asian Countries.

Sort:  

ha. i thought coffee grew in a jar that you picked off a shelf at the supermarket;)

I hope this knowledge causes no trauma!

naw thank goodness, i have enough trauma - iv'e smashed my voting manna now i got to refrain and be patient to let it rebuild lol

The mana on mine never seems to be affected. Not sure why! My stats say 358 upvotes over the past 7 days. Mana at 100%

meant voting manna - right now mines at 71% which gives my upvote $ wise lower than what i would like trying to keep above 80%. your voting manna is at 77% - i just looked ;)

Yeah voting power 77% Mana 100%

my RC manna same - never affected.

Congratulations @mhm-philippines! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 45000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58171.46
ETH 2472.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42