You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Fail at Farming: Life of a Foot Hills Nomad

in #farming6 years ago

Wow, this is the first post I've read on Steem and it was excellent. There's a lot of great stuff in here- explaining the history and what your homeland means to you, how that incorporates into your family traditions, and I think it's really great that you've also taking part in defending the environment where you live. I also like the story about the Goldenseal root - Which reminds me sir, I found out about a set of books that you may or may not have heard of that was put out in the 70's, The Foxfire Books. They were put out by a school teacher in the Appalachians who decided is was of great importance to collect the stories and traditions of the older generations before they pass away, and there's several volumes, Foxfire 1 2 3 4, you know, and are about a variety of great things like, How to build a log cabin, Home Remedies, Preserving Fruit and Vegitables, Curing and Smoking Hog, or Moonshining as a Fine Art, Faith Healing, Ghost Stories, lots and lots of really interesting stuff that is very well documented and I think you might really appreciate and enjoy those books. I got a copy of "The Foxfire Book" on Amazon used really cheap. I'm not much of a farmer but I appreciate you sharing your story and the least I can do is recommend something I think you might appreciate. Thanks man

Sort:  

I have Fox Fire 1, 2, & 3! The Fox Fire books are one of the most important, under utilized series of books ever printed. Thank you for your kind words. Have you ever seen Fox Fire in the woods? It's pretty amazing. My Great Grandfather Wayman, who I mentioned in my post, was walking home one night and cane across a large stump glowing bright with Fox Fire He thought it was a ghost and got so scared he almost broke his leg running home.
Life is often challenging, but that can provide us with an opportunity to use our stories to help others. Welcome to Steemit, I'm fairly new myself. Good luck. I'll be sure to follow you.

Amazing! No I haven't seen it but I have indeed read about it in those books and others, and I believe in it. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64467.84
ETH 3492.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54