You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The System is Stacked Against Parents (FamilyProtection Series -- Anna's Family Story Part VI)

in #familyprotection7 years ago (edited)

I apologize for the long post...

I have missed your other posts because I am rather new to Steemit, but I am truly sorry for the pain your friend (and so many others) have experienced because of this broken system. I myself am VERY familiar with the DCFS system (Department of Child and Family Services as it is called in my state in the US) however my knowledge is not because I was a victim of the system, but because I am a clinical therapist who specifically works for the system. It is my job to help parents get their children home (so please consider me one of the good guys), but I also do individual work with children and help the foster parents become more trauma informed so that they can better understand and manage what can sometimes be difficult behaviors related to trauma and separation from family. Under NO circumstances should ANYONE tell a child that their parents abandoned them, and if the child feels she was abandoned (which is a natural feeling and should be monitored), it is the therapist’s and caseworker’s responsibly to educate the client, in an age appropriate manner, the truth of their family involvement.

I have so much to say on this topic which would likely become an entire book, so I will only make two points:

  1. I can validate that the system is broken, but there are politicians out there who do not value child-welfare workers and have made drastic cuts. Especially in my state, we have a Republican governor who refused to sign a state budget for two years. There is a high level of burnout in workers who are overworked and underpaid, which further slows down an already slow system.
  1. At least in my state, therapists and caseworkers work for non-profit organizations that contract with the state. What this means is that we will get paid no matter what the outcome, and we do not get bonuses if the case goes one way or the other. We could have a decrease in our caseloads because of successful closures, but we will still get paid our set salary. This gives us the freedom to do what is best for our clients. Judges, GAL’s and most (not all) Public Defenders also work under the non-profit umbrella. To validate what your friend has experienced, however, I have seen for-profit lawyers (and on one occasion a for-profit therapist) do what is best for their own wallet and not what is best for the parents and children. My advice – always take a public defender paid by the state over a lawyer for hire: Some things simply have no business being for profit (like health care).

In my experience, there are three things that will make it difficult for parents: 1. There has been a death of a child (It unfortunately has become more common) 2. Unexplained injuries. 3. Sexual abuse accusations (the accused are considered guilty until proven innocent – which is nearly impossible to prove or disprove). Anyway, my thoughts go out to your friend whose family clearly has been traumatized by the system and I am open to anyone who could use free advise on how to navigate the system (at least in the US)

Sort:  

If you're one of the good guys, you're going on my list! Following you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73