You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Foster and Adoptive Parents Don't Care About the Corrupt CPS and Foster 'Care' System

I don't know... I'm a foster dad. first and foremost I think your post should be taken as anecdotal evidence. Just as what I'm about to say we are just single people... Single individual is experiencing something that can't be extrapolated to larger populations.

And no matter what the reason behind foster parents wanting kids, it's the states problem deciding whether or not the biological parent (s) is fit to have custody.

I'm not saying kids don't get taken away for less than ideal reasons, maybe they do... I actually don't know. I know for the ones under my care it was definitely warranted.... But I still don't think the state does enough.

Plus, it seems redundant to say that no matter how good the house they're sent to if a kid is taken away on justly it's not okay. That should go without saying...

The system is bloated... And Washington States system sure is underfunded and overworked. So that sentiment I can get on board with!

There will always be bad actors and systems, it's Human Nature. My foster kids get regular visitation with their bio mom. I just wanted to tell my story to give people another angle... More anecdotal evidence!

and Foster family should get paid... And sure that can leave two people getting it for the wrong reasons, but I believe I'm in it for the right reasons and I couldn't do it without that money.

In fact, I didn't sign up to be a foster parent but three sisters showed up on my door one day and didn't want to go back into the system with someone they didn't know.

Sort:  

You can't talk to half the people on this site, there's no reasoning with them. There is a organization out there of foster parents who specifically work to better the system. But unless someone like you or I write about them it won't ever appear on here and even if it did it wouldn't make one cent because it doesn't back up their narrative. At least in this article I seen a bit of credence given the chance that some foster parents are good people. I just replied to a lady the other day who said she couldn't find statistics on whether kids were better off with parents involved with the system or in the system. It wasn't hard to find, out of 1,750 children who died in 2016 eighty five came at the hands of the system the rest their deaths came at the hands of their parents.

I totally get your point, though for that statistic 1750 children who died in 2016 and 85 of them came at the hands of the system and the rest of the hands of their parents... The problem with that stat is there's more kids with bio parents than in the system anyways so it should be a percentage.

That is, 1750 - 85 = 1665 / total parents in US in 2016 = likely smaller # than same math done with system households & foster kids...thx for the reply!

You have to look further at the picture. In 2016 there were 126.22 million households, 27.98 percent of those household were single persons the rest families with children. Of those families with children there were over four hundred thousand children in foster care across the US. The 1,750 number comes from kids who were in foster care, kids whose parents had CPS called on them and were either being supervised by CPS in their homes and/or CPS released them back into their homes or were released from CPS supervision. Since every death of any child is investigated by CPS is how they discover that a family had prior contact with CPS, were in the foster care system of CPS, and/or were released from CPS supervision or were under supervision. That's why some state's CPS systems ( five of them) came to be sued, to many kids in or had contact with CPS in some form prior to their death so someone dropped the ball somewhere. Also note that some families contact with CPS didn't have to occur in that year, family supervision, release of supervision and/or release from foster care could have been in prior years to the children's deaths.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56768.45
ETH 2391.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28