You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The System is Stacked Against Parents (FamilyProtection Series -- Anna's Family Story Part VI)

Hi there. I been following you for some time now but have been somewhat out of the loop lately so forgive me if you have covered this already... I was wondering if you have any information on child protective agency when it comes to homeschooling in Canada. I am just beginning to research homeschooling laws and saw something that stated that every parent that registers their child as homeschooled gets CPA called on them to monitor the situation. Sounds pretty damn crazy to me. Any truth in that and do you have any wisdom to share?

Sort:  

It will be different in each different province, as each province has it's own homeschooling laws.
The Province of BC has VERY good homeschooling laws though -- so the Social Services / MCFD can not easily use homeschooling as a reason to take your child. Of course, you must also know your rights if they do come around trying to dig up dirt -- but the law is on the parent's side in the case of homeschooling.
Actually, I feel MUCH safer by homeschooling -- because I know parents who have had children at school taken out of class by Social Workers and interrogated without parents even knowing that this was going to happen. Also, teachers will sometimes file complaints based on misunderstandings or stupid things. So if a child goes to school, I feel that they are at much greater risk of having Social Services involved in their child's life.

oh I hadn't even thought of that. thank you for your input! i am considering moving to quebec since all of my family is there, but when i read what i did, i began to question my choices. doesn't seem like much of a free country, and perhaps much worse than the United States on that front. for now. i will continue to research Quebec laws and reach out to homeschooling families. thanks again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62943.85
ETH 2464.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55