You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Just when I thought I'd heard it all... Update crazy CPS lady

That feels like a long wait before 24th May! Hopefully they'll leave you alone until then and I hope your SIL gets this kicked in the butt! Has this come about because you're homeschooling?

Sort:  

Yes, it is a long wait until the 24th of May. I also think that the case worker did this on purpose. I've had a similar meeting before (when I first moved to Ireland, single foreign mother: must not be able to cope) and this was done within two weeks after they told me about it. The thing is that I am supposed to have a meeting at the end of June to see how things are (if I do what they want, which is the case) and it was supposed to be reviewed then to close it if everything was fine. With a conference, it means they can keep it open for another 3 to 12 months....The initial referral was because of something my eldest daughter (16) did (she lied about where she was, made a phone call from a gas station and when I didn't answer right away they called the police). Then when they came (we had just moved) of course the house wasn't tip top (boxes everywhere, clothes not unpacked etc.) that was noted and eventually the homeschooling was used as well. They can't get it into their heads that unschooling works without a curriculum but that my kids are learning a lot without it. Anyone who would talk to them more than just a sentence, would figure that out. But yeah, these people aren't trained to look outside of the box. I thought the time was good, because it gives me the time to prepare a statement. But they don't leave me alone. If anything, I see them more. I get a visit from the case worker once a week at least (used to be once every 2 or 3 weeks) and I have the family care worker here once a week. Then there is another woman who I see once every two weeks (in their office, so I have to arrange a child minder). I get up an hour before the kids do (which is very early!) to make sure the house is sparkly clean, just in case. By the time they get up, the floors are so clean, you could eat of them. It's something I would usually do in the morning after breakfast, but because I don't want to take the chance of them coming in and finding a speck of dust or dirt on the floor, I do it early. I change the kid's clothes (especially the youngest) about 3 times a day! It's completely crazy.

Sounds like a nightmare! I'm so sorry. Keeping my fingers crossed for you that this comes to an end soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68586.22
ETH 3911.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63