You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My life as a Juvenile Detention Officer...A series of True Stories of Abuse of Children - Tanisha - From The Cradle to The Grave

Such a heart breaking story, but I have a feeling it is only one of thousands more across the globe. You have a very difficult job and it must take its toll on you. How do you stay sane with all this craziness around you?

Sort:  

Yes but I'm sure it is more like Millions! I took an early retirement from Juvenile Detention over 10 years ago as too many of the kids I worked with got caught up in gang wars and were getting shot. I traveled around for a few years, worked for Job Corp for 3 years, then settled on the big Island of Hawaii. This Island has been a major part of my own healing process. If it weren't for @familyprotection, I probably would not be writing these stories. Writing these stories is helping me even more to honor these girls and then be able to put it all behind me and move forward with my life in hopes that their stories will give some sort of meaning to their short lives.

Writing is very therapeutic. Travelling and a change is helpful too. I am glad that you have been able to move forward. Your stories do give meaning to their lives. They are being remembered as human beings.

Yes, for me writing is extremely therapeutic. It helps me bring out issues that I wasn't aware I was still carrying around with me.

The heart always tells the hand what to write.

Yes indeed it does my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51