Dunning-Kruger effect / Remove the cause and the effect will cease. / Self examination is the key!

In the past I  have mistakenly used the Dunning Kruger effect as a weapon of words. I have attempted to defend and hide my own Dunning Kruger effected behavior by using societies known values as a cloak of invisibility. Acting as if I was a champion of our social mores and morals. In doing so it was necessary for me to deceive myself into thinking I was being more intelligent than the general population (a part of the definition of Dunning-Kruger effect), when in fact what I was doing was being Dunning Kruger effected. In my opinion and experience, a  most despicable behavior.

So in this post I will share what I now realize is the behavior that defined me as Dunning Kruger effected. So this is about my own experiences in examining my own behavior and not a criticism of the sources or others. Sometimes it will appear otherwise as it is intended however to share the process of making myself just a bit better everyday. The appearance is one that people on the outside looking in think oh that is bad. The truth is for me the more honest I can be provides the most opportunity for self improvement. 

To do this we must not only define Dunning Kruger effected, but also determine whether or not the behavior is rational or irrational. What is the realtionship between Dunning Kruger effected behavior with logic and reason. Finally is there a solution or method that heals the Dunning Kruger effected individuals? I think there is and is one reason I share my own experience with self examination.

What is the definition of Dunning Kruger effect?

To begin let us look at the definition of the Dunning Kruger effect by Wikipedia  

In the field of psychology, the  Dunning–Kruger effect is a cognitive bias in which people of low ability  have illusory superiority and mistakenly assess their cognitive ability  as greater than it is.

More at Wikipedia  

To me the definition is opinion based, which are not facts. They are opinions that are expressed in a manner that allows the Dunning Kruger effected to use their collective prejudice, beliefs and bias's irrationally. So to me this definition is a deceptive illusion. The parts of the definition that are irrational prejudices, beliefs and biases which are really just opinions and a illusion are:

  1. "is a cognitive bias" claiming that someone perceptions are cognitive bias is after all the expression of a cognitive bias. 
  2. "in which people of low ability  have illusory superiority" is the perception that there are people of lower ability than others and claiming that such people of lower ability have illusory superiority is in itself an illusion of perception and thus a opinion.
  3. "mistakenly assess their cognitive ability  as greater than it is." is an expression that cannot be proved about anyone individual, seeing as we don't see the reasoning of others, but only that reason we ourselves are using. 

In lite of the fact that the entire definition is based in opinions and largely based on opinion that we cannot actually know are facts.

It is logical and reasonable to think perhaps the definition is defining those who believe that there are people of lower ability than themselves. Beliefs do not create facts, but facts do create beliefs. The only point to this is that people who believe that they are smarter than others are really expressing an opinion that serves to bolster a failing self image. Thus the Dunning-Kruger effect is a behavioral habit illusion of thinking one's self's opinion are facts. At least so it was for me. 

What is determined about whether or not the behavior is rational or irrational? What is the relationship between the Dunning Kruger effect and logic and reason.

When you can point to a fact and say that it exist and has this measurements in its very being in existence that others can verify, than you have determined that fact to be rational and related to logical conditions that can be reasoned about. When you can determine however that the expression of a perception is based on opinion and not inherently a condition of the so called facts it is based in irrational arbitrary thinking. It is recognized that when something is irrational it cannot therefore be logical nor reasonable. So the definition of the Dunning Kruger effect is irrational and has no relationship to logic and reason. 

So in reality is there a Dunning Kruger effect? 

I think so and it is really a habitual behavior and not brought about by a physical condition of the mind. This may change over time do to neural plasticity, but is for now merely a distraction. What we see within the definition is the very behavior it purports to define. It is the mixing up of a persons prejudices, beliefs and bias's with the condition in reality we define as being or existing. It appears to be visible as an inability to distinguish between what is a fact and what is a opinion. Thus the Dunning Kruger behavior can be expressed as a mental dis-function where the mind perceives its beliefs, prejudices and bias's as the facts.

So how do we know when we are acting as Dunning-Kruger effected?

For me I note that I am the expert on why I decide to do things and no one else. I know not only history of my intentions, but the logical conditions I am reasoning about. I cannot however place the experiences that I have had, that lead me to the conclusion that the behavior is rational versus irrational on a table for others to examine. These condition in reality as far as I can determine exist for all individuals. 

Does this mean that really I am not using logic and reason to determine my actions? 

In a sense it does (scientific method) and in a sense it does not. As an individual I have the ability to know the facts about myself and really the only ability I don't have is the same inability, as far as I can determine everyone else has.  That is the inability to know the experiences and intentions of others. My own however I am the expert and do know. For another thing if the individual cannot use logic and reason then the scientific method is also a illusion. Thus I can use logic and reason on known facts of my experiences, which is knowledge of self. When I do so it is rational. It is only when I attempt to determine another s behavior as rational versus irrational that it is a dis-function in the Dunning-Kruger effect sense. The condition of knowing the experiences that created the rational for another doesn't exist in reality.

What is the solution for curing the Dunning Kruger effect of individuals?

The Reformation  of Union State Sovereignty By M. Kenneth Creamer Source I ran across the following principal on page 5. 

Sublata causa tollitur effectus.  

Remove the cause and the effect will cease. 2 Bl. Com. 203. 

By M. Kenneth Creamer 

Source National Liberty Alliance and the PDF is identified as reformation.

 If the Dunning-Kruger effect is a behavioral habit illusion of thinking one's self's opinions are facts, then "Sublata causa tollitur effectus." or  "Remove the cause and the effect will cease.".

So really I needed to create another Habit that checked and changed the illusion. That served to over time remove the habit. Seems counter intuitive at first to create a habit to fix a habit, but as far as I can tell it has worked. I no longer think that I am smarter than anyone else (average and lucky to be so), just the only expert that exist on who I am. 

I, as a matter of habit remind myself of the fact that I cannot know the rational of another. That really when I am judging others it is a judgement of whether or not I, want to be affected by the behaviors that I can see the results, and determine the results to be good or bad to me. It therefor is a judgement on future behavior that I will take and not a condemnation of the actors of the behavior.  

I have also learned other important truths. That I have judgement for the express purpose of judging my own actions for the express purpose of self improvement and that in reality it is a distraction to use judgement to judge others. How can you use judgement on other people when you cannot know the experiences that formed the intent for the actions that others take. 

So when I look at #familyprotections and make a judgment as to whether or not I want to be around the results of supporting people who are writing about the problems of the behavior of taking peoples children away from loving homes. Well the answer is a resounding YES! I do. Not only do I benefit from the curation of #familyprotection, but I get to reciprocate by sharing that curation with familyprotection. So together we manifest more for those who are writing and discovering the facts of the situation. We are creating the condition of more value for solving the problem. 

The same applies for #informationwar and it's warrior's. Do I want to be around people who are exposing the problems that tend to wake people up. Again the answer is a resounding YES! I do. This entire post is an attempt to make people aware of just one of the social problems that have created the situation. It is also an attempt to get people to self examine for the express purpose of self improvement. 

Self improvement is actually the single most important activity for a man or a women to engage in. In doing so they get to know who they are and as a result what they want. Somewhere in this process they realize that knowledge is power. They discover that knowing what they need to improve and actually making the changes that are improvements brings clarity about what they want. It brings focus on the steps that are necessary to acquire what is wanted and the success produces confidence that we are on the right path. Self examination is also the greatest single thing a man or women can give to the society they live in. It is not long after a person starts getting to know who they are that they realize they don't know the society they live in. They don't know the traditions or the culture. They don't know the history or how we got where we are.

I would be remiss if I didn't share where you can get access to educational material.

National Liberty Alliance has a huge repository of educational materiel. They inculcate how to think not what to think and really one can go through the material and form their own opinion about the culture, tradition and history. So I am trying to hand you power. The only real question is are you going to accept it. Are you going to support  @familyprotection  and infromationwar? 

Interested in joining or supporting the Information War? 

Use tag  #informationwar to post your own stories about the lies and propaganda being pushed on the public.

@informationwar will up vote posts worthy of the cause.  

Join the discord: https://discord.gg/JsXbzFM chat with like minded individuals like myself and share your articles to receive additional support.  

Delegating Steem Power:   Another way you can support the cause is to delegate SP to @informationwar

Delegate 25 SP  

Delegate 50 SP  

Delegate 100 SP Note: remember to keep around 50SP in your account so you don't run into any bandwidth problems.  

How to delegate SP, join the fan base and more:   https://steemit.com/informationwar/@truthforce/you-can-make-a-difference-join-the-informationwar-and-help-support-others-today  

Find out more about the Information War. Click Banner!

I am not responsible for if you think, how you think, what you think or do. You are. If you like my post consider following and up voting. Peace!

Sort:  

I remember you mentioning this on a post of mine a couple of days ago. It's nice to see the concept fleshed out into fuller article. I had meant to look it up, but got sidetracked...

I think another way of interpreting this concept, or maybe adding another layer to it - depending on your stand point - would to equate this mindset to one of a righteous ego.

The assertion that one is vastly more intelligent than the rest of the populace, is surely born of an ego centric perspective, and fits the bill of righteousness quite well, I feel.

On the solutions, and how to reconcile this distortion of the mind, it's not so easily solved, as it requires self-inquiry to do so. And, given the underlying problem here is one of unawareness, it's not likely to happen without an external event or trigger.

I think exposure to one's infallibility with regards to over-estimating their intelligence is what it is really takes in my opinion. A short sharp shock to the ego that humbles the person in question into re-examining their mental acuity and cognitive abilities.

I don't think righteous and ego work as a phrase. In a very real sense it is a oxymoron. Righteous means right ego is usually associated with wrong. In the religious sense it means Right Spiritually. Ego means wrong Spiritually. However I get what you mean. That a person who thinks there are people of lesser ability then themselves is very ego centered. What I have notices is that the fact that some people are hiding from the truth so much that it effects there cognition is being miss comprehended as a state in fact that they are of lower ability. Just in thinking that there are people of lower ability we affect our own cognition. We in effect are deciding that there are limits to our own cognitive ability and indeed there must be if there are limits for someone else.

It is only when you realize that really you get what you put into something, that you realize your cognition is no different then the muscles in your body. That the neural plasticity of the brain at any time can and does constantly rewire your brain means that in truth you get what you put into it.

Just to clarify my point on righteousness, of course, it can be a virtue, but when taken too far into extremes, can become zealotry. It isn't the righteousness of itself I was referencing, but an extreme sense of it.

And you're right, there are no short cuts, the brain is in fact a muscle. A fact which not a lot of people are privy to, and can be trained just as much as the rest of our physical body, like you say.

Totally agree that zealotry isn't a good thing.

When this is reinforced by society is established, in the same way instrospections always leave us teachings

I do not intend to allow this to be just another instrospection as you will see in my post on @commonlaw

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67851.31
ETH 3815.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77