I Wish I Knew...

in #family6 years ago (edited)

PregnantBlackWoman.jpg

Motherhood is an amazing experience. It is not just a justification that a woman is biologically adequate; rather it is an ultimate act of a woman’s feminine role in life. In the same vein, pregnancy which commonly catapults a woman into motherhood is a lengthy but beautiful experience and some yearn for it, imagining what it would feel like without truly realizing that its an incredible process . I once belonged in that category till I fell pregnant and couldn’t help but wish I had prepared myself for a number of surprises that sprang up on me. There were several hormonal changes and corresponding mood swings including some 'laugh today, cry tomorrow' moments but i have decided to keep the boring stuff and share these 3 interesting points instead . I wish I knew……

  1. That morning sickness doesn’t always have to take place in the mornings: This is probably the biggest myth of all times but the fact that it is called morning sickness does not mean it must happen in the morning so don’t be surprised if like myself, You experience 'evening sickness'

  2. That at some point, I would no longer be able to buckle me own shoes: This is so funny but true. It appears that when the pregnancy bump gets in the way, your feet completely disappear. It's nice to have someone who will always help buckle your shoes for you.

  3. That I would not be able to sleep on my tummy for 9 months: Sleeping on the tummy is my all time favorite sleep position but due to the growing bump, pregnant women always have to forfeit sleeping on their tummy to sleeping on their sides for a long long time. This can be really uncomfortable especially when the back pain intensifies.

Pregnancy eventually ushered me into motherhood which gave me the privilege to nurture another individual and express myself in another generation but I can say that I was forced to learn on the job so please remember that in life, it pays to know about your next phase because you may need to make some major psychological adjustments.

Thanks for reading!!!

(Photocredit: corbis)

Sort:  

For me it was awesome and it changed me physically into a better version of myself and I love it, but my friends didn't share the same feeling. Some women experience pretty bad symptoms ( after the child birth) so for me it was shocking to realize how much different we are. My own mother was shocked seeing me 3 days after a childbirth ( i got out of the hospital a day earlier) running around like nothing happened.

So amazing, thanks for sharing. Motherhood is such a privilege and I would never trade the experience for anything in the world @aschatria

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64168.03
ETH 3172.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84