Never-Too-Late Advent Calender DIY!

in #family7 years ago (edited)

image
A friend was saying how sad she felt because she had a late start getting ready for Christmas. She missed getting her Advent Calender out of storage in time for her kids to start counting off the 24 days of December. Just by sheer coincidence, I had to improvise my Advent Calender this year, because I wanted to give my teenage boys treats to unveil that would be more interesting, to them, than the traditional ones. Instead of pennies (loose change), little chocolates or gumdrops, I opted for small toys, notes, and edibles for a more grown up pallet. (I'll show you what I gave them later) Getting back to my friend. I told her that if she made her own Advent Calender, she could start the countdown anytime! Example: Why not do the "Twelve Days of Christmas." Start the calender on December 12th instead of the 1st. For the really busy parent, maybe just the last week before Christmas Day works best. The point is, when you make your own calendar, you make your own rules! :)
image
So here is the Calender I made for my boys, 17yo and 14yo). As you can see, I took average brown paper bags which can be bought at any dollar store, decorated them with holiday stickers, ink stamps, and glued buttons. Most of my decorations were leftover from last year, but I did buy a few extras at Wal-Mart.
image
I used the wall space at the foot of my staircase and cutout a big square of wrapping paper for the Calender background. I used push pins to keep it in place and also to tie the string to the pins that the brown bags will hang from. image
Because I have 2 boys, I decided it would be best to hang 1 week's worth of treat baggies at a time. So each boy got one row of seven baggies on the Calender. If I had more wall space, or only 1 boy, then I may have been able to put all 24 baggies at the same time. But as I said before, "you make the Calender, you make the Rules!" :D
Now here's a few examples of what I put inside the baggies for my boys. image
Day 1 was a love note from mom and little plastic whale and shark. Remember, you don't have to give expensive treats. God knows we already spend enough on actual Christmas presents! LOL This is just a fun little thing to get them in the holiday spirit.
image
Day 7 just a little 2 sided note and a mechanical pencil. They always need more office supplies during the school year, so why not incorporate that into the treats.
image
Day 9 Chocolate Wafer Cigars. (Wal-Mart). I split a $2 box b/n the two boys and wrapped the wafers with red ribbon. So easy it felt like cheating.
image
Remember, the treats don't have to be extravagant and you can start your own Calender anytime during the month of December!
Oh and please don't worry about my 2yo princess! She got her own special Calender. (Not featured here).
Ok, have fun making! And please comment if you have any suggestions, improvements, opinions. Would love to hear your thoughts! Thanks for checking out my post and Happy Holidyas!!!
-@sillychatchat

Sort:  

Congratulations @sillychatchat! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @sillychatchat! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56849.09
ETH 2508.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32