Celebrating FREEDOM...yey!!! :-)

in #family7 years ago (edited)

October 23, 2017, a day that I will never forget. It was the most terrible day I've ever had. I was a total stranger, a very different person yesterday. I was in my most (to the nth level of superlative) beast mode. Me and my eldest had an argument last night. Unknowingly on my part, I've dropped all my grudges and I've hurt her....super hurt her with my words and actions. Until I was heart broken. I was crushed and deeply hurt with what I've done to her & to my toddler too (sob). Tears rolling down her face, she went upstairs with my mother. I was left alone...crying too...down...no...I am not alone. My crying little darling stayed with me through the longest night I've ever had.

October 24, 2017, we started the day, the usual way. I did my morning routines, household chores (e.g. cook breakfast & lunch, boil water, prepare her breakfast, her lunch, etc.). She did her things too. We were also talking as usual, we acted as if nothing happened last night. I was washing the dishes when she bid goodbye before stepping out the door. "GOD bless you, anak (my child)", I told her & she waved back at me smiling.

I wish I can be like her. She forgets and forgives easily. I've seen her smile and its always authentic. I on the other hand, went to work as usual with bulgy eyes...yes full of eyebags. Who wants to take a selfie with excess eye baggage huh! Definitely not all of us & i am one of the 50% who wouldn't.

As a mother, my heart is still bothered and I feel there's a need for us to unwind and talk about last night's incident. I called her during lunch break & she said she's already having her lunch. I asked her that we will go home together in the afternoon & she agreed. She was already waiting for me when I went out from office. I asked how her day was and it was like a "replay" of what happened last night. I was devastated to know that she was bullied and shamed by her friends--so called "friends" for almost two years now. She told me how they shouted at her at their canteen & how they badmouthed her. They told her she was officially out from their squad. I was furious, my maternal instincts instantly turned on. I asked her (finally, have my time to talk) how did she handle it and she just said, "I did not talk back at them mom. I was silent the whole time. I don't want to waste my energy fighting back." Of course, there were several students there who witnessed the whole ordeal. When they finished their "friendly talk" to my daughter, they went away. She just went after them.

WP_20170521_10_31_05_Pro.jpg

Now, what did I learn from a 13 year-old here. She was so happy and excited telling me everything while we were still inside the jeepney (our ride back home). And finally, she said, "Mom, I've never been so free!!!" I was so relieved to see her like she's back and i told her, "this calls for a celebration, anak." She beamed her sweetest smile and she said, "really mommy?". "Yes", I told her. "Do you want burger & fries, I know a perfect place. Now, hurry up and change. Let's go get your ading (sibling) and nanay, they will be celebrating your "FREEDOM" with us. She's finally free from these bullies. yey!!!

WP_20160821_13_53_20_Pro.jpg

I am so sorry for such a long introduction ha ha ha :-D Here are our pictures by the way :-)

Women have many hats :-) With this photo I wore one of my many hats as a mother, i am also her hair stylist. I made her hair last monday, she played the role of Gaia, the goddess of Earth. This is for their performance task (school).

She's not yet wearing her gown here though, just the hair. A fruit of love, labor of love. Thank God for giving me skills to braid their hair :-)

We celebrated her FREEDOM at Mamba's Kitchen. It is located at San Juan, La Union. We ordered fruit shakes, burgers & fries :-)

This is my nanay sipping her banana fruit shake...yummy :-)

My goddess, the celebrant enjoying her mango fruit shake...yummy :-)

And our little superstar with her all time favorite fruit -- dragon fruit...she loves it yummy dragon fruit shake...yey!!!

They have huge serving, as in. We were so full. My mother wasn't able to finish her burger that she had to take home her left over ha ha ha...

I had a little chit chat with the owner (i am very sorry I forgot to take a selfie with her). She said she's married to a Greek, a very health conscious man. That's why they serve foods of high nutritional value, organic & pure.

They grind their own beef patty & made sure that every fat is removed. It is made of 100% pure lean meat. They make their own bun also. They don't add sugar on it. Wow! now that's healthy. Even people with high blood can come & eat their burger. It is absolutely zero fat.

Mamba's salad is super healthy too because of organic sugar & honey dressing...yummy :-)

This is a perfect place for all certified health buff out there. I paid the bill with a promise to bring my friends next time. And this time not to forget to have a selfie with her. She's a very charming and accommodating woman. Forgive me too if my article is quite long & kindly feel free to correct me for i am open to such constructive criticisms. There is always room for improvement as I am not a writer by profession. I am a working mom & parenting is such a struggle sometimes. This is my blog & I write about family, friends, foods, fun & favorites. Soon, you'll be reading about my friends. I'm not sure when but one thing is certain...I will definitely write about them too...soon...GOD bless us all. Thank you for sparing your time reading my article. :-)

Sort:  

Beautiful hairstyle, and the burger looks soo delicious. The secret to happiness is freedom... And the secret to freedom is courage.

I will remember this post in a few days. To read it again. There is something, i am doing and i will tap into this a bit. Join the #untalented family. Join in on the contests. It will help you grow. Visit my last post too. Many things are fixable and gradually, we will fix things. Remorse always means you haven't gone to far. "Sorry" works but it is gradual and we will get to that

can i still join the contest sir? the "who am i?"...

I think so. People are still writing their entries.

Welcome sa steemit. Mabuhay!:)

thank you po :-)

Yes, you can. Just #untalented as one of the tags, so i can find it. Put Untalented in the title as well

Yes please and thank you so much :-)

Hello @shirleynpenalosa

We have given you our still tinnie-winnie upvote!
You have been determined by a human @surpassinggoogle to be possessing of special gem. Do join the #untalented family!

Abolishing the conditioning attached to IQ tests e.g smart, dull, bum, average and you suddenly give every human a chance to shine!

So e.g if Bill Gates did Microsoft and i can do Macro-hard, arent we both genius? Oh, we both are! Showcase your talents regardless of its nature freely with us in #untalented. Relegate all reservations as flaws are allowed and we sift even the so-called nonsense to find sense therein.

#untalented is an ongoing historical curriculum with initiatives/contests, where each participant wins something. No losers! It is also a core branch of #steemgigs, so please join the SteemGigs community on discord already containing around 700 gifted steemian family members. See this URL for more info

https://steemit.com/steemit/@surpassinggoogle/steemit-s-untalented-is-in-beta-participate-freely-because-every-participant-in-this-contest-will-win-something-no-losers

and also this URL for the discord community

https://discord.gg/CGuPyyT

If you want to vote a witness, you can vote steemgigs too. Simply go to

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

and type steemgigs into the first search box. Stay awesome!

Just incase you find any level or form of gifts, talents, attempts at out-of-the-boxness, or any steemian low in confidence about their abilities, worth, etc; please don't let it slip emptily by.
Kindly call on me! Simply reply to any such post and add @steem-untalented or #untalented to your reply and i will be there to upvote, acknowledge, strengthen and encourage them.

thank you @steem-untalented...i've already joined discord po...God bless...

Wow! Lots of lessons, it's really cool to be tender hearted and loving. To be happy always, not allowing the external to control anything within.............True Freedom! Parenting is also a task that must be achieved through dedication and sensitivity. Thanks so much for sharing this

yes @danield to be happy is a choice & to let go of the things we can't control is one of the best ways to be happy in life. Parenting is a very challenging "profession" so to speak. Thank you also & you are welcome. :-)

I don't want to waste my energy fighting back."

Your beautiful daughter is very smart @shirleynpenalosa.

The mean-teen years are full of hurting youth seeking to hurt everybody they wish they could be, have what they have. In some cases, that's a doting mother.

Let her be herself mother. Guide her with the wisdom you've gleaned from life. She is an offshoot of yourself. She will be a better person, learning from your mistakes.

Enjoy the time together. The days before college and adulthood (five brief years from now) come far too swiftly.

I'm sure she felt your apology in the burger; but, hearing it would mean the world to her. And, if all goes well, she'll offer you one as well. ;+)

Btw, blessed are you to have the little one to keep you from the painful empty-nest many parents mourn as the children fly the coop.

Peace.

Deep calleth unto deep! Thank you

yes, thank you so much...you're right @spiritualmatters & it is indeed a very humbling experience to ask for her forgiveness...hahaha "empty-nest" it is yes....thank you :-)

GBY! As I recall, for most of us, our teen years were a force to be reckoned with...lol...

And, just like that one day we morpheded into a quieter being, careful to 'pick our battles' for the peace of all. (lol)

It's better to "have a few words with a teen" than to have them walking around in all black 24/7 with ZERO words for you.

Of course, it's a lot easier to apply this 'simple' (ha!...lol) mantra I try to apply with difficult people...

When tempted to speak your mind, slowly count to ten. And, if necessary, count backwards from that number again....10, 9, 8...

It's easier for me to count, than pull myself together for an apology...which probably explains an occasional invitation to a pal for lunch...lol...

Peace.

GBY! As I recall, for most of us, our teen years were a force to be reckoned with...lol...

And, just like that one day we morph into a quieter being, careful to 'pick our battles' for the peace of all. (lol)

It's better to "have a few words with a teen" than to have them walking around in all black 24/7 with ZERO words for you.

Of course, it's a lot easier to apply this 'simple' (ha!...lol) mantra I try to apply with difficult people...

When tempted to speak your mind, slowly count to ten. And, if necessary, count backwards from that number again....10, 9, 8...

It's easier for me to count, than pull myself together for an apology...which probably explains an occasional invitation to a pal for lunch...lol...

Peace.

very well said po @spiritualmatters.. :-) it is very important to choose our own battle...been hearing this before from my mother...you reminded me po...thank you :-)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @shirleynpenalosa to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

thank you po :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63476.83
ETH 3413.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50